MPCC-2004-037

Facts and complaint

During the course of a meeting, the complainant (a civilian) allegedly submitted a written harassment complaint (a document that would be designated “Protected B”) to the Deputy Commanding Officer of a military base. After some time had passed, the complainant decided to check on the status of his complaint and was informed that it could not be located. The complainant subsequently submitted a signed copy of his original complaint and received an acknowledgement of receipt. A few weeks later, the complainant made inquires with the Military Police detachment about investigating the loss of his original harassment complaint and then proceeded to file a written complaint at the detachment. After some discussion, he was informed that his complaint would be investigated as a security issue. When, after another few weeks, the complainant telephoned the Military Police detachment to request an update, he was informed that the document still had not been located and the investigation was ongoing.

A search of the premises was conducted but the document was not found and the Deputy Commanding Officer involved stated that he could not remember receiving a formal written harassment complaint. A short while after this, the investigation was concluded as needing no further action; however, the complainant was not notified of this development. When he once again contacted the detachment to ask for information on the investigation status, he was informed that he would have to submit an Access to Information and Privacy Act request. It was at this point that the complainant filed a conduct complaint alleging that proper procedures were not followed regarding the missing “protected” document and that the investigation had not been conducted in a timely manner.

The Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards Letter of Final Disposition

In her Letter of Final Disposition, the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards stated that she agreed with the Professional Standards investigator's findings. The Professional Standards investigator found that the allegation that proper procedures were not followed was not supported. The allegation was based on a misunderstanding during a conversation between the complainant and one of the subject members.

With respect to the allegation that the investigation was not done in a timely manner, the investigator found this to be partially supported. The investigator found that there had been a slight delay before the formal investigation of the complaint began. In her Letter of Final Disposition the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards added certain information to support the investigator's findings and also added her recommendation that the incident be reviewed with the subject members to ensure that, in future, proper investigative procedures are followed.

The complainant was not satisfied with the disposition of his complaint and requested a review of the file by the Complaints Commission.

Findings and Recommendations of the Complaints Commission Member

The Complaints Commission member reviewed all of the documentation and correspondence regarding this file. With respect to the allegation that proper procedures were not followed when attempting to locate the misplaced document, the Complaints Commission member found that this was not the fault of the Military Police subject members as other individuals on the base were responsible for such matters. The Complaints Commission has no jurisdiction to review the conduct of non-Military Police personnel.

With respect to the allegation that the investigation into the missing document was not carried out in a timely manner, it was noted that while the investigation was affected by the absence of a key person during part of the period in question, the subject member could have started the investigation sooner. As well, the status of the investigation and the responsibilities of base authorities in the matter could have been better communicated to the complainant.

Reply of the Complaints Commission following the Notice of Action of the Acting Canadian Forces Provost Marshal

The Complaints Commission member was pleased to note that the Acting Canadian Forces Provost Marshal agreed with the findings reached in this review.

Date modified:

CPPM-2004-037

Faits pertinents et plainte

Lors d'une réunion, le plaignant (un civil) prétend avoir présenté par écrit une plainte de harcèlement (un tel document serait désigné « Protégé B ») au commandant adjoint d'une base militaire. Après un certain temps, le plaignant a décidé de faire un suivi de sa plainte; on lui a alors dit qu'on n'arrivait pas à la retracer. Le plaignant a alors fourni une copie signée de sa plainte originale et on lui a remis un accusé de réception. Quelques semaines plus tard, il s'est rendu au détachement de la Police militaire pour obtenir des renseignements au sujet de l'enquête portant sur la perte de sa plainte initiale de harcèlement. Il a alors déposé une plainte officielle. Après discussion, on lui a indiqué que cette dernière serait considérée comme une plainte sur une question de sécurité. Lorsque, quelques semaines plus tard, le plaignant a téléphoné au détachement de la Police militaire pour savoir où en était le traitement de sa nouvelle plainte, on lui a dit que la plainte d'origine n'avait toujours pas été retrouvée et que l'enquête suivait son cours.

Malgré une fouille des lieux, le document en question n'a pas été retrouvé. De plus, le commandant adjoint affirme ne pas se souvenir avoir reçu une plainte écrite officielle portant sur des allégations de harcèlement. Peu de temps après, on a mis fin à l'enquête sans recommander de mesures à prendre; toutefois, le plaignant n'en a pas été informé. Par conséquent, lorsqu'il a communiqué avec le détachement pour savoir où en était l'enquête, on lui a dit qu'il devait présenter une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Le plaignant a donc décidé de déposer une plainte pour inconduite alléguant, d'une part, que la procédure adéquate n'avait pas été respectée concernant le document confidentiel perdu et, d'autre part, que l'enquête n'avait pas été effectuée en temps opportun.

Lettre de règlement final du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles)

Dans sa lettre de règlement final, le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) appuie les conclusions de l'enquêteur. Ce dernier a jugé que les allégations de manquement à la procédure adéquate n'étaient pas fondées. Il juge que les allégations reposaient sur un malentendu survenu lors d'une conversation entre le plaignant et un des membres visés.

Concernant l'allégation selon laquelle l'enquête n'aurait pas été menée en temps opportun, l'enquêteur estime qu'elle est partiellement fondée. En effet, il y a eu un bref délai avant que l'enquête ne débute après le dépôt de la plainte. Dans sa lettre de règlement final, le grand prévôt adjoint a ajouté certains renseignements qui appuient les conclusions de l'enquêteur, en plus de recommander aux membres visés de revoir le dossier afin de s'assurer qu'à l'avenir, les procédures adéquates soient respectées.

Le plaignant était insatisfait du règlement de sa plainte et a demandé une révision de son dossier par la Commission. Conclusions et recommandations du membre de la Commission

Conclusions et recommandations du membre de la Commission

Un membre de la Commission a examiné le dossier et la correspondance connexe. En ce qui concerne l'allégation de manquement aux procédures lors des recherches pour retracer le document perdu, le membre de la Commission estime que le policier militaire n'était pas en faute puisque d'autres personnes sur la base étaient responsables de cette tâche. La Commission ne peut évaluer la conduite du personnel ne faisant pas partie de la Police militaire.

Concernant l'allégation selon laquelle l'enquête sur la perte d'un document n'a pas été menée en temps opportun, on a souligné le fait que le bon déroulement de l'enquête a été compromis parce qu'aucune personne ressource n'avait été désignée durant une partie de l'enquête. De plus, le membre visé aurait pu commencer l'enquête plus tôt. En outre, le plaignant aurait pu être mieux informé du déroulement de l'enquête et des responsabilités des personnes qui en étaient chargées.

Réponse de la Commission à la suite de la notification du grand prévôt intérimaire des Forces canadiennes

Le membre de la Commission a été satisfait de constater que le grand prévôt intérimaire des Forces canadiennes appuie les conclusions de la révision.

Date de modification :