MPCC-2004-014

Facts and complaint

Further to a request for assistance from the RCMP, the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service was tasked to investigate allegations of sexual assault. Following the investigation, it was recommended to the Crown Attorney that charges be laid pursuant to the Criminal Code. After the courts disposed of the resulting charges, the individual in question contacted the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards office and indicated that he wished to make a formal complaint against the investigating officers. There was also apparently some confusion regarding the advice given to the complainant as to how to proceed with his complaint. In the conduct complaint received by the Complaints Commission, the complainant alleged that the charges that were laid against him were a result of errors made during the initial investigation by the Military Police members who conducted the investigation and further alleged that his attempts to bring the matter forward were hindered by Military Police members. As is required by the National Defence Act, the Complaints Commission forwarded the conduct complaint to the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal for consideration and action.

Decision of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal

The Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards identified five allegations in the conduct complaint submitted to her office. The first three (3) allegations were that the subject members were incompetent, used incomplete investigative techniques and that the supervision of the investigation was inadequate, all of which led to the false arrest of the complainant. Upon further investigation, the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards found that these allegations were not supported and indicated that no further action would be taken.

The other two allegations, which were investigated by a different investigator separately from the first three, concerned the complainant's dissatisfaction with the subject members when he contacted them to indicate that he wished to file a conduct complaint. The complainant alleged that a Military Police member did not provide adequate assistance to him and that another Military Police member was unprofessional. The investigation supported the allegation that the complainant was not provided with adequate assistance; however, based on a lack of clear evidence, a determination could not be made concerning the professionalism of the subject member. No further action was contemplated regarding this allegation.

The complainant was not satisfied with the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards' disposition of his complaint regarding the first three allegations and requested that the Complaints Commission conduct a review.

Findings and Recommendations of the Complaints Commission

The Interim Chairperson of the Complaints Commission found that the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service investigator conducted a competent and complete investigation into the sexual assault allegation and possessed the necessary training and experience to do so. The Interim Chairperson also found that the subject member possessed the necessary reasonable grounds to lay charges against the complainant, based on the information he learned from interviews with the complainant, other witnesses and his own investigation.

Additionally, proper and detailed notes were taken and standard police practices and Military Police directives were followed. As well, the Interim Chairperson found that the subject members properly consulted their superiors during the course of the investigation and the subject member supervising the investigation, who was actively involved in the investigation, properly discharged his responsibilities.

However, the Interim Chairperson found that the Professional Standards investigator should have interviewed the complainant and recommended that, in general and where possible, it is a best practice to commence an investigation by interviewing the complainant to ensure that the complaint and the allegations are clearly understood from the outset.

As the investigation into allegations four and five regarding the lack of assistance provided to the complainant and the unprofessional manner of a Military Police member was conducted separately, the results were not reported in the Professional Standards investigation report. They were, however, reported in the Letter of Final Disposition of the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards. The Interim Chairperson found that the investigator arrived at the appropriate conclusions but noted that an interview with the complainant at the beginning of the investigation could have cleared up any misunderstanding regarding the allegations. He also noted that it is important to record all information gathered during the course of an investigation primarily as a best practice, but also in the event of a request for review.

Reply of the Complaints Commission following the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal Notice of Action

The Interim Chairperson of the Complaints Commission was pleased to note that the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal agreed with all findings of this review and supported the recommendation made regarding the interviewing of complainants.

Date modified:

CPPM-2004-014

Faits pertinents et plainte

À la suite d'une demande d'aide formulée par la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, le Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes (SNEFC) a été chargé d'ouvrir une enquête concernant des allégations d'agression sexuelle. Une fois l'enquête terminée, on a recommandé au procureur de la Couronne de porter des accusations en vertu du Code criminel. Dès que les tribunaux eurent tranché l'affaire, la personne concernée a communiqué avec le bureau du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) dans le but de porter plainte contre les enquêteurs. Apparemment, on ne s'entendait pas sur les conseils à donner au plaignant quant à la manière de procéder pour porter plainte. Dans la plainte pour inconduite acheminée à la Commission le plaignant allègue que les accusations portées contre lui résultaient des erreurs commises au cours de l'enquête initiale des membres de la Police militaire. De plus, il soutient que ces derniers ont tenté de nuire à sa démarche. Comme le prévoit la Loi sur la défense nationale, la Commission a acheminé la plainte pour inconduite au grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes pour examen et pour déterminer les mesures à prendre, le cas échéant.

Décision du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a relevé cinq allégations dans la plainte d'inconduite qui lui a été remise. Selon les trois (3) premières allégations, les membres visés ont fait preuve d'incompétence et ont eu recours à des techniques d'enquête inadéquates, et il y a eu manque de supervision tout au long de l'enquête, ce qui aurait mené à l'arrestation injustifiée du plaignant. Après un examen approfondi du dossier, le grand prévôt adjoint a jugé que ces allégations étaient non fondées et a précisé qu'aucune mesure additionnelle ne serait envisagée.

Les deux (2) autres allégations, soumises à une enquête distincte dirigée par un autre enquêteur, portaient sur l'insatisfaction du plaignant envers les membres visés lorsqu'il a communiqué avec eux pour leur signifier son intention de déposer une plainte pour inconduite. Le plaignant allègue qu'un membre de la Police militaire ne lui a pas fournit l'aide nécessaire et que l'autre policier militaire n'a pas fait preuve de professionnalisme. L'enquête a permis de confirmer l'allégation selon laquelle le plaignant n'a pas reçu l'aide requise dans les circonstances; toutefois, étant donné le manque de preuves, il a été impossible de démontrer le manque de professionnalisme de l'autre membre visé. Aucune autre mesure n'est envisagée concernant cette dernière allégation.

Le plaignant était insatisfait des conclusions du grand prévôt adjoint concernant ses trois premières allégations et a demandé à la Commission de réviser son dossier.

Conclusions et recommandations de la Commission

Le président intérimaire de la Commission a estimé que le bureau du SNEFC a mené une enquête complète avec professionnalisme concernant les allégations d'agression sexuelle, et qu'il possédait l'expérience et les compétences requises pour ce faire. Le président intérimaire considère également que le membre visé avait des motifs raisonnables de porter des accusations contre le plaignant, selon l'information qu'il avait recueillie lors d'entrevues avec le plaignant et d'autres témoins, et selon d'autres renseignements obtenus durant son enquête.

Qui plus est, des notes additionnelles détaillées et pertinentes ont été prises; les pratiques policières usuelles et les directives de la Police militaire ont été respectées. Le président intérimaire a jugé que les membres visés ont bien consulté leurs supérieurs au cours de l'enquête, que le membre en charge de superviser l'enquête, qui a joué un rôle actif durant l'enquête, s'est acquitté adéquatement de ses responsabilités.

Toutefois, le président intérimaire est d'avis que l'enquêteur des Normes professionnelles aurait dû interviewer le plaignant et recommande qu'à l'avenir, lorsque cela sera possible, il sera de mise de commencer une enquête par une entrevue avec le plaignant afin de s'assurer de bien comprendre la plainte et les allégations dès le départ.

Étant donné que les allégations quatre et cinq ont fait l'objet d'une enquête distincte - aide inadéquate prodiguée au plaignant et comportement non professionnel du policier militaire - les résultats n'ont pas été inscrits dans le rapport de l'enquêteur des Normes professionnelles. Ils ont plutôt été inscrits dans la lettre de règlement final du grand prévôt adjoint. Le président intérimaire a jugé que les conclusions de l'enquêteur sont appropriées, mais il est d'avis qu'une interview avec le plaignant au début de l'enquête aurait permis d'éclaircir tout malentendu au sujet des allégations. En outre, il considère important de noter tous les renseignements recueillis au cours d'une enquête, d'une part, parce qu'il s'agit d'une pratique exemplaire et que, d'autre part, cela pourrait être utile en cas de demande de révision.

Réponse de la Commission à la suite de la notification du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Le président intérimaire de la Commission était satisfait puisque le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes a appuyé toutes les conclusions de la révision ainsi que la recommandation portant sur l'entrevue des plaignants.

Date de modification :