MPCC-2002-037

Facts and complaints

The complainant filed a complaint with the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal concerning the investigation his military superiors conducted into the harassment complaints he had filed. When informed by the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal that no further investigation would take place, the complainant filed a conduct complaint with the Complaints Commission against the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal. The complaint was immediately forwarded to the Chief of the Defence Staff in accordance with subsection 250.26(2) of the National Defence Act.

The complainant's allegations focused on the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal's failure to properly investigate his complaint regarding the alleged conflict of interest and collusion amongst his superiors who were conjointly involved in a privately owned company. The complainant alleged that, in order to protect their private interests, his superiors interfered with the investigation of his initial harassment complaints. The complainant claimed that the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal unjustly ignored his complaint saying that the issues had already been dealt with by various agencies within the department. With the help of the Access to Information Act, he found that although two investigations had looked into the matter, neither one specifically dealt with the allegations that a conflict of interest existed within his chain of command.

Decision by the Chief of the Defence Staff

The Chief of the Defence Staff delegated the investigation of the conduct complaint against the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal to the Vice Chief of the Defence Staff, who in turn, decided to hire an independent investigator. In accordance with his mandate, the investigator made a comprehensive list of the complainant's allegations. Due to the number and the variety of the allegations, the investigation was given a broad scope. No evidence was found to support the complainant's claims that the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal misled him or that anyone had interfered with her policing duties. In a Letter of Disposition, the Chief of the Defence Staff concluded that the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal had made the appropriate decision under the circumstances.

The complainant was not satisfied with the decision of the Chief of the Defence Staff and, in accordance with subsection 250.31(1) of the National Defence Act, he requested that the Complaints Commission review his complaint against the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal.

Findings and recommendations of the Member of the Complaints Commission

  1. Allegations regarding a conflict of interest

    The Complaints Commission member found no evidence that the Vice Chief of the Defence Staff or the independent investigator had addressed the allegations regarding the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal's failure to investigate a conflict of interest within the complainant's chain of command. However, due to the extensive nature of the complainant's allegations, the Complaints Commission member states that it is conceivable that the investigators and the Vice Chief of the Defence Staff had unintentionally omitted this particular aspect of the complaint from their investigation and, consequently, from their report. The Complaints Commission member is of the opinion that any results regarding the investigation of a complaint should be documented and conveyed to the complainant. Therefore, the Complaints Commission member recommends that the file be reviewed and a written assessment be transmitted to the complainant to address his complaint and clarify this issue.

  2. Allegations that informing the local police was a form of retaliatory action

    Following an interview with the independent investigator, the complainant made a comment that prompted the investigator to report the incident to the local police. The complainant claims that the investigator contacted the local police pursuant to a discussion with the Chief of the Defence Staff and the Vice Chief of the Defence Staff. The complainant alleges that this was done as a form of retaliation aimed at encouraging him to drop his complaint and resulted in the independent investigator allegedly being compensated for having contacted the police by having his contract extended. The Complaints Commission member found no evidence to substantiate these claims. The Complaints Commission member considers that the Chief of the Defence Staff and the Vice Chief of the Defence Staff had no previous knowledge of the complaint history and legitimately wanted the case to be resolved. However, it is the Complaints Commission member's opinion that the Chief of the Defence Staff, the Vice Chief of the Defence Staff and all other staff involved in this matter should have monitored the investigation more closely and assured that it was conducted exhaustively.

  3. Procedural concerns: processing complaints

    In the spirit of part IV of the National Defence Act, the Complaints Commission member reiterates the importance of assisting complainants in the formulation of their complaints. In the member's view, the independent investigator or the Vice Chief of the Defence Staff's office should have contacted the complainant in order to accurately identify the nature of his allegations. Since the independent investigator was given a broad mandate, that included the conducting of interviews, the Complaints Commission member considers that the Vice Chief of the Defence Staff acted in good faith when he hired the investigator. However, the Complaints Commission member agrees with the complainant's view that the interviews conducted by the independent investigator did not allow the complainant to clearly express all of his allegations. Furthermore, the Complaints Commission member is concerned with the fact that, even though the conduct complaint was against the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal, she was never formally interviewed regarding the question of the alleged conflict of interest of the complainant's superiors. In other words, there are no available transcripts or recordings of any interview involving the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal. The Complaints Commission member recommends that private contractors be required to conduct investigations in a manner that would allow a thorough and autonomous review by the Complaints Commission.

Complaints Commission Member's Reply following the Notice of Action of the Chief of the Defence Staff

The Chief of the Defence Staff, in his Notice of Action, has generally accepted the recommendations of the Complaints Commission member, who is satisfied with this response.

Date modified:

CPPM-2002-037

Faits pertinents et plainte

Dans une plainte déposée auprès du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes, le plaignant a prétendu que ses supérieurs militaires n'avaient pas enquêté convenablement ses plaintes de harcèlement. Après avoir été informé par le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes qu'aucune autre enquête ne serait effectuée, le plaignant a déposé auprès de la Commission une plainte au sujet de la conduite du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes. Cette plainte a immédiatement été transmise au chef d'état-major de la Défense conformément au paragraphe 250.26(2) de la Loi sur la défense nationale.

Les allégations du plaignant portaient sur le fait que le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes n'avait pas traité avec efficacité sa plainte concernant le conflit d'intérêts et la collusion imputée à ses supérieurs, qui avaient des intérêts conjoints dans une compagnie leur appartenant à titre privé. Le plaignant a prétendu que, afin de protéger leurs intérêts privés, ses supérieurs avaient entravé l'enquête sur ses plaintes initiales de harcèlement. Il a déclaré que le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes avait eu tort de ne pas tenir compte de sa plainte parce que la question avait déjà été traitée par diverses instances au sein du ministère. À l'aide de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, il avait découvert que, même si l'affaire avait déjà fait l'objet de deux enquêtes, ni l'une ni l'autre n'avaient traité expressément les allégations de conflit d'intérêts dans sa chaîne de commandement.

Décision du chef d'état-major de la Défense

Le chef d'état-major de la Défense a délégué l'enquête relative à la plainte au sujet de la conduite du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes au vice-chef d'état-major de la Défense, qui a à son tour décidé de retenir les services d'un enquêteur indépendant. Conformément à son mandat, celui-ci a dressé une liste complète des allégations du plaignant. Vu le nombre et la diversité des allégations, l'enquête avait une grande portée. On n'a relevé aucune preuve confirmant les allégations du plaignant selon lesquelles il avait été induit en erreur par le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes, ni que quiconque avait entravé ses fonctions de police. Dans une lettre de règlement, le chef d'état-major de la Défense a conclu que le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes avait pris la bonne décision dans les circonstances.

Le plaignant n'a pas été satisfait de la décision du chef d'état-major de la Défense et, conformément au paragraphe 250.31(1) de la Loi sur la défense nationale, il a demandé que la Commission réexamine sa plainte au sujet de la conduite du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes.

Conclusions et recommandations du membre de la Commission

  1. Allégations de conflit d'intérêts

    Le membre de la Commission n'a décelé aucune preuve révélant que le vice-chef d'état-major de la Défense ou l'enquêteur indépendant aurait examiné les allégations selon lesquelles le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes aurait omis d'enquêter sur un conflit d'intérêts existant dans la chaîne de commandement du plaignant. Toutefois, vu l'ampleur des allégations du plaignant, il déclare qu'il est concevable que les enquêteurs et le vice-chef d'état-major de la Défense aient omis involontairement cet aspect de la plainte dans leur enquête et, en conséquence, dans leur rapport. Le membre de la Commission est d'avis que tout résultat relatif à la plainte aurait dû être consigné et communiqué au plaignant. Par conséquent, il recommande qu'une enquête soit faite et qu'une évaluation écrite soit transmise au plaignant pour corriger ce problème.

  2. Allégations selon lesquelles le fait d'avoir informé la police locale a constitué une forme de représailles

    À la suite d'une entrevue avec l'enquêteur indépendant, le plaignant a fait une remarque qui a incité l'enquêteur à signaler l'incident à la police locale. Le plaignant prétend que l'enquêteur a communiqué avec la police locale à la suite d'un entretien avec le chef et le vice-chef d'état-major de la Défense, et que c'était là une forme de représailles ayant pour but de l'encourager à renoncer à sa plainte. Il prétend en outre que l'enquêteur indépendant a été rémunéré pour avoir communiqué avec la police locale en ayant une prolongation à son contrat. La Commission n'a décelé aucune preuve à l'appui de ces allégations. Le membre de la Commission estime que le chef et le vice-chef d'état-major de la Défense n'avaient aucune connaissance antérieure des tenants et aboutissants de la plainte, et qu'ils voulaient légitimement la résoudre. Il est cependant d'avis que le chef d'état-major de la Défense, le vice-chef d'état-major de la Défense et tous les autres membres du personnel intéressés par cette affaire auraient dû suivre l'enquête de plus près et s'assurer qu'elle était exhaustive.

  3. Préoccupations relatives à la procédure : le traitement des plaintes

    Dans l'esprit de la partie IV de la Loi sur la défense nationale, le membre de la Commission réitère l'importance d'aider les plaignants à formuler leurs plaintes. À son avis, l'enquêteur indépendant ou le bureau du vice-chef d'état-major de la Défense aurait dû communiquer avec le plaignant afin de préciser exactement la nature de ses allégations. Comme l'enquêteur indépendant disposait d'un mandat large qui comprenait la tenue d'entrevues, le membre de la Commission estime que le vice-chef d'état-major de la Défense a agi de bonne foi lorsqu'il a retenu les services de l'enquêteur. Toutefois, il convient avec le plaignant que les entrevues menées par l'enquêteur indépendant n'ont pas permis au plaignant d'exprimer clairement toutes ses allégations. De plus, il s'inquiète du fait que, même si la plainte relative à la conduite concernait le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes, la titulaire de ce poste n'a jamais été convoquée à une entrevue officielle à ce sujet. Autrement dit, il n'existe ni transcription ni enregistrement de quelque entrevue que ce soit avec le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes. Le membre de la Commission recommande que les enquêteurs du secteur privé soient tenus de mener les enquêtes d'une manière permettant à la Commission d'en faire un examen approfondi et autonome.

Réponse du membre de la Commission à la notification du chef d'état-major de la Défense

Le membre de la Commission est satisfait de ce que, dans sa notification, le chef d'état-major de la Défense a accepté les recommandations.

Date de modification :