MPCC-2003-032

Facts and Complaint

An altercation between two young persons occurred at a skateboard park on a Canadian Forces base. Once advised of the alleged assault by her child, his mother asked that the Military Police be contacted to report the incident. The Military Police members arrived and interviewed the mother and young person #2. Young person #1 was then arrested and taken to the Military Police detachment, his parents were contacted and they arrived shortly thereafter. Young person #1 provided a statement and was released into his father's custody. Young person #2 provided a written statement and a third young person was also interviewed as a witness to the incident. After the investigation, young person #1 and his parents were informed that criminal charges would be withdrawn and a formal police caution would be issued instead. The father of young person #1 became angry and refused to participate in the police caution interview, after which the documentation was forwarded to the Crown Attorney's office to proceed with a formal assault charge. (It was later decided that the charge would not proceed). The father of young person #1 then forwarded a memo to his Chain of Command outlining the incident involving his son and identifying what he believed to be problems with the Military Police member's actions. The subject member was asked to explain his side to the story in a written response to the father, which he did; however, the father of young person #1 did not receive a copy of this document.

The father submitted a conduct complaint to the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards alleging that:

Decision of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal

The Letter of Final Disposition of the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards concurred with the findings of the Professional Standards investigator.

The Professional Standards investigation supported the complainant's allegation that the Military Police member had not conducted a proper investigation. The investigator found that the subject member had not interviewed certain individuals who could have clarified the situation, and there were inconsistencies in the statements and other information that should have been further verified by the subject member.

The allegation that improper force was used was not supported, based on the Professional Standards interview with young person #1.

With regards to the relationship between the young people on the base and the Military Police, the Professional Standards investigator could not make a determination on this allegation.

As well, the Professional Standards investigator made other observations with regard to the Military Police member's investigation and procedures and made a number of recommendations for improvements. However, much of this information was not included in the final letter sent to the father of young person #1.

The father of young person #1 was not satisfied with the disposition of his complaint and requested that the Complaints Commission review the file.

Findings and Recommendations of the Complaints Commission Chairperson

The Complaints Commission looked at a number of issues based on the complainant's request for review. The complainant said that he was satisfied with the decision that the allegation concerning the use of force was not supported by the Professional Standards investigation.

The fact that the Chain of Command failed to forward the initial memo from the father of young person #1 to the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal for consideration and acknowledgment was inappropriate, as the complaint may have been ignored had it not been re-submitted. However, the Chairperson noted that certain shortcomings in this regard have been addressed with the implementation of an automated system, which provides information to all ranks of the Chain of Command.

The Chairperson also found that the recommendation of the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards concerning additional training and counselling for the Military Police member regarding proper procedures was appropriate. Further, in order to ensure that the complainant understands that the appropriate actions have been taken, the Letter of Final Disposition or a follow-up letter should contain details of any such training or counselling.

The complainant raised a number of concerns regarding the accuracy of the information contained in the Letter of Final Disposition. The Chairperson found that additional information and details in the Letter of Final Disposition could have helped the complainant better understand the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards' findings and recommendations. As well, the Letter of Final Disposition sent to the complainant did not contain some of the information and observations that were included in the letter sent to the subject member. The Canadian Forces Provost Marshal has since implemented a practice wherein the subject member(s) and the complainant(s) receive the same information in what is now called the “Report on Findings and Actions”.

With regards to the allegation that the Military Police were not interacting with the young people on the base in a way that would foster good relations between them, the Chairperson found that the Professional Standards investigator should have consulted with community centre personnel to determine if there were any concerns about Military Police involvement with the youth at the skateboard park and surrounding areas. If further investigation reveals that problems exist, then the appropriate action should be taken and the information transmitted to the complainant and the Complaints Commission.

The Canadian Forces Provost Marshal's Notice of Action and the Chairperson's Response

In her Notice of Action the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal provided a number of valuable comments and suggestions, some of which were reflected in the Chairperson's final report. The Chairperson expressed the hope that the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal would continue to work towards making the process as transparent as possible so that all parties involved will be satisfied that the complaint has been effectively resolved.

Date modified:

CPPM-2003-032

Faits pertinents et plainte

Une altercation entre deux jeunes s'est produite sur le site d'un parc de planches à roulettes sur une base des Forces canadiennes. Informée de la prétendue agression à l'endroit de son enfant, la mère du jeune en question a demandé à la Police militaire de faire enquête sur cet incident. Certains membres de la Police militaire ont interrogé la mère et le jeune no 2. Le jeune no 1 par la suite a été arrêté et amené au détachement de la Police militaire où l'on a avisé ses parents, qui sont arrivés peu de temps après. Après avoir rédigé une déclaration, le jeune no 1 a été confié à son père. Le jeune no 2 a présenté une déclaration écrite, et un troisième jeune a aussi été interrogé en tant que témoin de l'incident. Une fois l'enquête terminée, le jeune no 1 et ses parents ont été informés que les accusations criminelles seraient retirées : il ferait plutôt l'objet d'une mise en garde officielle par la police. Le père du jeune no 1 s'est fâché et a refusé de participer à l'entrevue. Les documents ont ensuite été envoyés au bureau du procureur de la Couronne pour qu'une accusation de voies de fait soit portée (il a plus tard été décidé qu'il n'y aurait aucune poursuite). Le père du jeune no 1 a ensuite envoyé une note à l'intention des responsables de sa chaîne de commandement dans laquelle il explique l'incident impliquant son fils et énumère les problèmes qu'il estime avoir relevés dans les interventions du policier militaire. On a demandé à celui-ci de donner par écrit sa version des faits, ce qu'il a fait. Toutefois, le père du jeune no 1 n'a pas reçu cette lettre.

Le père a présenté au grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) une plainte pour inconduite prétextant :

Décision du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

La lettre de règlement final du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) souscrit aux conclusions de l'enquêteur des Normes professionnelles.

L'enquête des Normes professionnelles a permis de conclure que l'allégation du plaignant selon laquelle le policier militaire n'a pas mené une enquête convenable est fondée. L'enquêteur a déterminé que le policier militaire mis en cause a omis d'interroger des personnes qui auraient pu clarifier la situation et qu'il y avait dans les déclarations et les autres renseignements des incohérences qui auraient dû faire l'objet d'un examen approfondi.

D'après l'entrevue réalisée par l'enquêteur des Normes professionnelles avec le jeune no 1, l'allégation selon laquelle le policier militaire a indûment eu recours à la force n'est pas fondée.

En ce qui a trait à la relation entre les jeunes de la base et la Police militaire, l'enquêteur des Normes professionnelles n'a pas été en mesure de se prononcer sur cette allégation.

En outre, l'enquêteur des Normes professionnelles a soumis d'autres observations portant sur l'enquête du policier militaire mis en cause et les procédures; il a présenté à cet égard certaines recommandations qui permettraient de les améliorer. Cependant, bon nombre de ces renseignements n'ont pas été précisé dans la lettre finale envoyée au père du jeune no 1.

Ce dernier se dit insatisfait du règlement de sa plainte et a demandé à la Commission de réviser son dossier.

Conclusions et recommandations de la Présidente de la Commission

La Commission a examiné diverses questions relatives à la demande de révision du plaignant. Ce dernier se dit satisfait de la conclusion de l'enquête des Normes professionnelles selon laquelle l'allégation d'un recours à la force n'était pas fondée.

Il était tout à fait inapproprié de la part de la chaîne de commandement de ne pas acheminer la note initiale du père du jeune no1 au grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes pour que ce dernier en accuse réception et l'examine, étant donné que la plainte aurait pu ne pas être traitée si elle n'avait pas été déposée à nouveau. Toutefois, la Présidente souligne qu'on peut dorénavant palier à certaines lacunes à cet égard puisqu'un système informatisé a été mis en place pour transmettre l'information à tous les rangs de la chaîne de commandement.

De plus, la Présidente considère appropriée la recommandation du grand prévôt adjoint au sujet de la formation additionnelle sur la procédure et le counselling destiné aux membres de la Police militaire. Afin que le plaignant sache que les mesures adéquates ont été prises, la lettre de décision finale ou toute autre lettre de suivi, devrait mentionner les détails relatifs à la formation et au counselling proposé.

Le plaignant a exprimé certaines inquiétudes concernant l'exactitude des renseignements contenus dans la lettre de décision finale. Selon la Présidente, des renseignements plus précis auraient permis au plaignant de comprendre les conclusions et les recommandations du grand prévôt adjoint. En plus, la lettre que le plaignant a reçue ne faisait pas mention de certaines informations et observations qui apparaissaient pourtant dans la lettre acheminée au membre de la Police militaire concerné. Le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes a depuis instauré une procédure faisant en sorte que le membre concerné et le plaignant reçoivent les mêmes renseignements; il s'agit maintenant du rapport sur les conclusions d'enquête et les mesures à prendre.

Concernant l'allégation selon laquelle le comportement de la Police militaire n'a pas favorisé de bonnes relations avec les jeunes sur la base militaire, la Présidente estime que l'enquêteur aurait dû consulter le personnel du centre communautaire afin de s'enquérir s'il y avait quelque problème que ce soit à ce qu'il entre en contact avec les jeunes au parc de planche à roulettes et dans les environs. Si la poursuite de l'enquête dévoile l'existence de problèmes, les mesures appropriées devront être prises. Ensuite, le plaignant et la Commission devront en être informés.

Réponse de la Présidente et notification du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Dans sa notification, le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes a formulé des suggestions judicieuses et de nombreux commentaires, dont certains se retrouvent dans le rapport final de la Présidente. La Présidente a souhaité que le grand prévôt continue de déployer les efforts nécessaires afin que le processus soit le plus transparent possible et que toutes les parties concernées soient satisfaites du traitement de la plainte.

Date de modification :