MPCC-2002-064

Facts and Complaint

A civilian complained that Military Police had shown preferential treatment to others involved in an incident by interviewing those people first and causing the complainant to wait several hours for his interview. He also alleged that police did not prepare a proper report of the incident and wondered why Military Police would suggest to him and his daughter that they could be arrested when he was reporting a crime of which his daughter was the victim.

The complaint related to a dispute on a Canadian Forces Base involving members of the complainant's family, as well as certain other individuals. Everyone involved then proceeded to the Military Police detachment to report the incident and over the course of several hours all were interviewed by Military Police members. The complainant stated that he waited about four hours before it was his turn to be interviewed.

Decision of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal

The investigation of the complaint by Professional Standards found that, in essence, the Military Police member involved had made the best of a difficult situation, and concluded that the delay in interviewing the complainant, although regrettable, was unavoidable in the circumstances.

As for advising the complainant and his daughter that they could be arrested, the Professional Standards investigator found that it is proper for a police officer to advise individuals of the potential consequences of their conduct. The investigation also concluded that all the appropriate reports on the incident had been completed.

Not satisfied with the findings, the complainant asked the Complaints Commission to review his complaint.

Findings and Recommendations of the Complaints Commission

The Commission Member examined various issues in the context of this review.

1. The complainant felt that the Military Police member had discriminated against him by causing him to wait while the subject member interviewed other individuals involved in the incident before interviewing the complainant.

The Commission Member found that, at the time the complainant and the other individuals concerned arrived at the detachment, the Military Police member who is the subject of this complaint was alone in the office. Sensing that the situation was emotionally charged, he placed the various players in different areas of the detachment and began individual interviews with those involved. After two interviews had been completed, two other Military Police members returned to the detachment and proceeded to carry out one of the two remaining interviews.

The Commission Member agreed with the conclusion of the Professional Standards investigation. Though regrettable, the delay was unavoidable under the circumstances and there was no evidence of any intent on the part of the Military Police member to discriminate against the complainant when determining the order in which the interviews were conducted.

2. Completion of appropriate reports by Military Police members

The Commission Member also found that the results of the Professional Standards investigation in this regard were supported. Military Police interviewed all potential witnesses and completed all the appropriate incident reports. As well, given that no charges were laid or pending in connection with the incident, there was no requirement to prepare a Military Police Investigation Report.

3. Propriety of Military Police advising someone that they could be arrested or charged with an offence.

During the course of the interview the Military Police subject member told the complainant that his actions earlier in the evening could have resulted in charges under the Criminal Code, although no charges would be laid in this instance. Police, in that they are responsible for crime prevention, have a right and a duty to ensure that individuals understand the possible consequences of their actions. The Commission Member in his findings referred to jurisprudence demonstrating that police officers are within their rights to advise citizens of the consequences of their actions and that doing so does not constitute a threat or intimidation.

4. Refusal to provide the subject of a recorded interview with a copy of the interview.

The Commission Member made an additional finding based on an issue that arose during the review but was not part of the original complaint. When he learned that his interview had been videotaped, the complainant requested a copy of the videotape but the Military Police member refused to provide one. Although a Military Police member is neither required nor expected to provide an immediate copy of a videotaped interview to the subject of the interview, it is the responsibility of Military Police to advise individuals of their right to obtain a copy and to refer them to the appropriate authority.

Reply of the Complaints Commission following the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal Notice of Action

The Canadian Forces Provost Marshal generally accepted the findings and recommendations of the Commission Member.

Date modified:

CPPM-2002-064

Faits pertinents et plainte

Un civil a déposé une plainte concernant un traitement de faveur que la Police militaire aurait accordé à d'autres personnes mêlées à un incident, en les interrogeant en premier et en faisant attendre le plaignant plusieurs heures pour son entrevue. Il prétend aussi que la Police militaire n'a pas rédigé un rapport sur l'incident en question et se demande pourquoi elle a évoqué la possibilité que sa fille et lui soient arrêtés alors qu'il signalait un acte criminel dont cette dernière avait été victime.

La plainte avait trait à une querelle impliquant des membres de la famille du plaignant ainsi que d'autres personnes sur une base des Forces canadiennes. Après l'incident, tous se sont rendus au détachement de la Police militaire pour le signaler et des policiers militaires les ont interrogés au cours des heures qui ont suivi. Le plaignant affirme avoir attendu environ quatre heures avant d'être interrogé.

Décision du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Essentiellement, l'enquête des Normes professionnelles a permis de conclure que le policier militaire mis en cause avait fait de son mieux dans une situation difficile, et que le retard de l'entrevue du plaignant, bien que regrettable, était inévitable.

Quant à l'avertissement donné au plaignant et à sa fille au sujet de la possibilité qu'ils soient arrêtés, l'enquêteur des Normes professionnelles a conclu qu'il était approprié qu'un agent de police informe des personnes des conséquences possibles de leur conduite. L'enquête a aussi révélé qu'on avait rédigé tous les rapports prescrits sur l'incident.

Insatisfait de ces conclusions, le plaignant a demandé à la Commission de réviser son dossier.

Conclusions et recommandations de la Commission

Le membre de la Commission a examiné les diverses questions dans le contexte de la présente révision.

1. Le policier militaire mis en cause a-t-il traité le plaignant de façon discriminatoire en interrogeant avant lui les autres personnes concernées?

Le membre de la Commission a conclu qu'au moment où le plaignant et les autres personnes concernées sont arrivés au détachement, le policier militaire faisant l'objet de la plainte était seul au bureau. Sentant que la situation était chargée d'émotivité, il a fait attendre les différents acteurs à des endroits différents du détachement et a commencé à mener des entrevues avec chacun d'entre eux. Au moment où il terminait la deuxième entrevue, deux autres policiers militaires sont revenus au détachement et ont commencé à interroger l'une des deux personnes qui attendaient encore.

Le membre de la Commission s'est dit d'accord avec la conclusion de l'enquête des Normes professionnelles. Bien que regrettable, le retard de l'entrevue du plaignant était inévitable à cause des circonstances, et rien ne laisse croire que le policier militaire avait l'intention de le traiter de façon discriminatoire lorsqu'il a établi l'ordre des entrevues.

2. Les policiers militaires ont-ils rédigé les rapports sur l'incident?

Le membre de la Commission a aussi conclu que les résultats de l'enquête des Normes professionnelles étaient fondés. La Police militaire a interrogé tous les témoins et dressé tous les rapports prescrits. En outre, comme on n'a porté aucune accusation à la suite de cet incident, la Police militaire n'avait pas à rédiger un rapport d'enquête.

3. Était-il convenable d'informer des citoyens qu'ils pourraient être arrêtés ou inculpés?

Au cours de l'entrevue du plaignant, le policier militaire mis en cause lui a dit que, même si aucune accusation ne serait portée contre lui, il aurait pu être inculpé en vertu du Code criminel, à cause des gestes qu'il avait posés plus tôt au cours de la soirée. La police, chargée de la prévention du crime, a le droit et le devoir de s'assurer que les personnes comprennent bien les conséquences possibles de leurs actes. Dans ses conclusions, le membre de la Commission a invoqué la jurisprudence afin de démontrer que les agents de police sont en droit d'informer les citoyens des conséquences de leurs actes et qu'agir ainsi ne constitue pas une forme de menace ou d'intimidation à leur égard.

4. La Police militaire pouvait-elle refuser au plaignant de lui donner une copie de l'enregistrement sur bande vidéo de son entrevue?

Le membre de la Commission a tiré une conclusion additionnelle, ayant trait à une question soulevée lors de l'examen mais qui ne faisait pas l'objet de la plainte initiale. En apprenant que son entrevue avait été enregistrée, le plaignant a demandé une copie de la bande vidéo, ce que la Police militaire lui a refusé. Même si on ne s'attend pas à ce que le policier militaire remette immédiatement une copie de l'enregistrement vidéo à la personne interrogée, et qu'il n'y est pas obligé, il incombe à la Police militaire d'informer cette personne de son droit d'en obtenir une copie et de la renvoyer aux autorités responsables.

Réponse de la Commission à la suite de la notification du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes a accepté l'ensemble des conclusions et des recommandations du membre de la Commission.

Date de modification :