MPCC-2009-013

On November 17, 2008, the complainant filed a conduct complaint primarily related to the conduct of various fellow members of the Military Police Security Section (MPSS) at a Canadian Embassy abroad. The allegations appeared to relate to the handling of certain harassment complaints within the MPSS unit as well as certain other unit personnel-related matters. However, his complaint also took issue with the handling of a criminal/service offence investigation conducted by two members of the CFNIS. In December 2008, the Chairperson pursuant to section 250.2 of the National Defence Act (NDA), granted an extension of the one-year limit, and the complaint was transferred to the CFPM for disposition in accordance with NDA section 250.26.

Initially, the DPM PS advised the complainant and the Commission that a portion of the complaint dealing with the conduct of one of the MPSS members would be investigated as a conduct complaint under Part IV and the other elements constituted administrative matters. In a letter dated March 23, 2009, on further assessment of the complaint, the DPM PS advised that the allegations did not in fact relate to the performance of “policing duties or functions” for the purposes of NDA section 250.18, therefore, the investigation would proceed as a DPM PS “internal” (non-Part IV) complaint.

While the Commission agreed that certain aspects of the complaint appeared to relate to personnel and administrative matters, the Commission also indicated that the determination of whether the member is engaged in the performance of “policing duties or functions” must be based on a consideration of the actual activities which are the subject of the complaint, rather than the overall mandate or tasking of the subject member’s unit or posting. The Commission also noted that the complainant’s letter of November 17, 2008, contained allegations regarding the conduct of a criminal/service office investigation by to members of the CFNIS, which did appear to constitute a conduct complaint within the meaning of NDA Part IV.

In a letter dated July 21, 2009, the DPM PS agreed with the Commission’s approach to applying the “policing duties and functions” definition to the specific MP activities complained of, rather than solely on the nature of the member’s posting. Having then re-visited its assessment of the complaint, the DPM PS reaffirmed that the allegations against members of the Embassy MPSS do not relate to the performance of “policing duties and functions” within the meaning of NDA Part IV. However, the DPM PS agreed with the Commission that the complainant’s allegations concerning the CFNIS should be classified as a conduct complaint within the meaning of NDA Part IV and would be treated accordingly. The ensuing DPM PS investigation of this conduct complaint and its subsequent review by the Commission proceeded under a new file.

Date modified:

CPPM-2009-013

Le 17 novembre 2008, le plaignant a déposé une plainte pour inconduite concernant principalement la conduite de collègues du Service de sécurité de la police militaire (SSPM) à une ambassade canadienne à l’étranger. Les allégations semblent être liées au traitement de certaines plaintes de harcèlement au sein du SSPM, ainsi qu’à d’autres problèmes de personnel au sein de l’unité. Toutefois, la plainte portait également sur une enquête criminelle générale/relative à une infraction d’ordre militaire, menée par deux membres du SNEFC. En décembre 2008, le président a accordé, en vertu de l’article 250.2 de la Loi sur la défense nationale (LDN), un prolongement de la prescription, limitée à un an. La plainte a été transmise au GPFC, pour qu’il en dispose, conformément à l’article 250.26 de la LDN.

Le GPA NP a tout d’abord avisé le plaignant et la Commission que la partie de la plainte portant sur la conduite d’un des membres du SSPM ferait l’objet d’une enquête pour plainte pour inconduite en vertu de la partie IV, et que les autres éléments de la plainte étaient de nature administrative. Dans une lettre en date du 23 mars 2009, le GPA NP a fait savoir, après avoir étudié la plainte de plus près, que les allégations ne portaient pas sur l’exercice de « fonctions de nature policière », aux termes de l’article 250.18 de la LDN et que, par conséquent, la plainte ferait l’objet d’une enquête interne de la part du GPA NP, et non d’une enquête pour plainte aux termes de la partie IV.

Bien que la Commission ait convenu que certains aspects de la plainte semblent relever de questions d’ordre administratif ou de ressources humaines, elle a indiqué également que pour déterminer si le membre exerçait des « fonctions de nature policière », il faut se baser sur les activités qui font l’objet de la plainte, plutôt que sur le mandat général ou les tâches associées à l’unité ou au poste du membre. En outre, la Commission a souligné que, dans sa lettre datée du 17 novembre 2008, le plaignant formulait des accusations concernant la tenue d’une enquête sur une infraction criminelle ou d’ordre militaire par les membres du SNEFC, qui semblent constituer une plainte pour inconduite aux termes de la partie IV de la LDN.

Dans une lettre datée du 21 juillet 2009, le GPA NP s’est dit d’accord avec la Commission, qui a choisi d’appliquer la définition de « fonctions de nature policière » aux activités des agents de la PM faisant l’objet de la plainte, plutôt que de se baser uniquement sur la nature du poste du membre. Après avoir revu son évaluation de la plainte, le GPA NP a réaffirmé que les accusations à l’endroit des membres du SSPM de l’ambassade canadienne ne portaient pas sur l’exercice de « fonctions de nature policière » aux termes de la partie IV de la LDN. Toutefois, le GPA NP, tout comme la Commission, a convenu que les accusations du plaignant concernant le SNEFC, devraient être considérée comme une plainte pour inconduite, aux termes de la partie IV de la LDN et qu’elles seraient traitées comme tel. L’enquête du GPA NP sur cette plainte pour inconduite et l’examen qu’en a fait la Commission par la suite font l’objet d’un autre dossier.

Date de modification :