MPCC-2002-005

Facts and Complaint

The complainant contacted the Complaints Commission to request a review of the Professional Standards disposition of a matter and alleged that his reputation had been damaged by the actions of the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards. He stated that, although he had not filed a complaint against a Military Police member, the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards had conducted an investigation and found the “complaint” to be unfounded. The complainant also alleged that he had been harassed and abused by Military Police. The Complaints Commission determined that the complainant had not filed a complaint nor had he authorized anyone to file a complaint on his behalf. However, because the individual was not the complainant he did not have the right to request a review and the Chairperson was unable to proceed. In light of the complaints of harassment and abuse by Military Police, as well as complaints against the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service investigation results, the Complaints Commission forwarded the correspondence to Professional Standards so they could address the complaints in the first instance pursuant to subsection 250.26(1) of the National Defence Act.

Decision of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal

The report of the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards concluded that the complainant had in fact lodged a conduct complaint about members of the military police. The investigation also concluded that, since there was no indication of any improper conduct on the part of the Military Police, further investigation would not be necessary.

Findings and Recommendations of the Chairperson of the Complaints Commission

1. The Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards handled a complaint against herself

The circumstances surrounding the complaint indicate that the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards was dealing with a complaint that related to statements made in a letter, which she had signed, and a report of the investigation, which she had written. In view of the fact that the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards was a subject of the complaint, there was a conflict of interest when she then made decisions on the merits of the complaint. The Chairperson found that the investigation into the matter should have been immediately referred to the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal.

2. Assisting complainants

The Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards identified the complainant as a co-complainant without first seeking his permission to do so. The Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards has a duty to consult with the individual and determine if that person wishes to be designated as a co-complainant to ensure that he or she has a right of review by the Complaints Commission. The Chairperson found that the complainant had no intention of filing a conduct complaint against the Military Police in the first instance, nor had he asked anyone to file a complaint on his behalf. Professional Standards personnel have a duty to assist complainants to accurately express their concerns and properly file their complaints, and to ensure that complainants understand the process in general.

3. Incorrect information contained in reports and letters of the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service and the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards

The Chairperson found that the report of the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service investigation and the letters concerning the case contained incorrect information, which continued the perception that this individual had filed a conduct complaint against the military police. The Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards repeated the error in relying on the report of the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service investigator to conclude that the “complaint” was unfounded.

The Chairperson's report noted that these are the types of problems that can occur when Professional Standards rely solely on the investigations of the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service to make decisions on the professional conduct of Military Police members.

The mandate of the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service is to investigate allegations of criminal or service offences. The role of Professional Standards is to determine whether the conduct of a Military Police member in the performance of a policing duty or function was appropriate and professional (did they perform their policing duties properly?). Thus, a Professional Standards investigation is much broader in scope and more likely to examine conduct that might not be considered by a Canadian Forces National Investigation Service investigation.

4. The application of subsection 250.28(2)(c) of the National Defence Act

Subsection 250.28(2)(c) of the National Defence Act gives the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal discretion to refuse to investigate a conduct complaint or to end an investigation if, in the opinion of the Provost Marshal, investigation is not necessary or reasonably practicable. The Chairperson stated in her review her belief that the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal should exercise this discretion in only the most clear-cut circumstances. In this instance, the Chairperson found that those circumstances did not exist.

The Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards dealt with a complaint against herself, the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service supplied incorrect information to her, and there was evidence that the Military Police Members may have acted unprofessionally. These factors indicate that the application of subsection 250.28(2)(c) of the Act was not warranted here. The Chairperson recommended that the case be referred to the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal for a thorough review of its disposition by the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards.

Chairperson's Reply following the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal Notice of Action

The Notice of Action of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal accepted the majority of the Chairperson's findings and recommendations. The Chairperson believes that this is a clear indication of the Provost Marshal's commitment to improving policing practices, which will further enhance the professionalism of the Canadian Forces Military Police.

Date modified:

CPPM-2002-005

Faits pertinents et plainte

Le plaignant s'est adressé à la Commission pour demander une révision d'une décision des Normes professionnelles et a allégué que sa réputation avait été ternie par les actes du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles). Il prétend que le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a mené une enquête alors qu'il n'avait pas porté plainte contre un policier militaire et qu'il a conclu que la « plainte » n'était pas fondée. Le plaignant allègue en outre avoir été victime de harcèlement et d'abus de la part de la Police militaire. La Commission a établi que le plaignant n'a pas porté plainte et n'a autorisé personne à porter plainte en son nom. Cependant, étant donné que la personne n'était pas le plaignant, elle n'avait pas le droit de demander une révision, et la présidente ne pouvait donner suite à sa demande. Cependant, compte tenu des allégations de harcèlement et d'abus de la part de la Police militaire, ainsi que des plaintes concernant les résultats de l'enquête du Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes, la Commission a acheminé la lettre au grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) afin qu'il puisse traiter les plaintes en première instance conformément au paragraphe 250.26(1) de la Loi sur la défense nationale.

Décision du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Le rapport du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) établit que le plaignant a en fait déposé une plainte concernant l'inconduite des policiers militaires. L'enquête n'ayant permis de conclure à aucune inconduite de la part de la Police militaire, il a été déterminé qu'il ne serait pas nécessaire de poursuivre l'enquête.

Conclusions et recommandations de la présidente de la Commission

1. Le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a traité une plainte la mettant en cause

Les circonstances entourant la plainte indiquent que le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) traitait une plainte ayant trait à des affirmations faites dans une lettre portant sa signature et à un rapport d'enquête dont elle était l'auteur. Le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) étant visé par la plainte, elle était en conflit d'intérêts lorsqu'elle a pris des décisions relativement au bien-fondé de la plainte. La présidente a conclu que l'enquête sur cette affaire aurait dû être renvoyée aussitôt au grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes.

2. Assistance aux plaignants

Le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a désigné le plaignant à titre de coplaignant sans obtenir sa permission au préalable. Le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a le devoir de consulter la personne et de déterminer si elle souhaite être désignée comme coplaignant, ce qui lui confère le droit de demander une révision par la Commission. La présidente a conclu que le plaignant n'avait aucune intention de déposer une plainte pour inconduite en première instance contre la Police militaire et qu'il n'a demandé à personne de porter plainte en son nom. Le personnel des Normes professionnelles a le devoir d'aider les plaignants à bien formuler leurs préoccupations et de leur expliquer comment déposer une plainte en bonne et due forme ainsi que de veiller à ce que les plaignants comprennent l'ensemble du processus.

3. Renseignements erronés dans les rapports et les lettres du Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes et du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles)

La présidente a constaté que le rapport d'enquête du Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes et les lettres au sujet de l'incident contenaient des renseignements erronés qui entretenaient la perception que la personne avait déposé une plainte pour inconduite contre la Police militaire. Le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a répété l'erreur en s'appuyant sur le rapport du Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes pour conclure que la « plainte » n'était pas fondée.

Le rapport de la présidente fait remarquer que ce genre de problème peut survenir quand les Normes professionnelles se fient uniquement aux enquêtes du Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes pour juger de la conduite professionnelle des policiers militaires.

Le mandat du Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes consiste à enquêter sur des allégations d'infractions d'ordre criminel ou militaire. Le rôle des Normes professionnelles consiste à déterminer si la conduite d'un policier militaire, dans l'exercice de ses fonctions policières, était appropriée et professionnelle (s'est-il acquitté comme il se doit de ses fonctions policières?). Ainsi, la portée d'une enquête des Normes professionnelles est beaucoup plus vaste et beaucoup plus susceptible d'englober des actes dont une enquête du Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes ne tiendrait pas compte.

4. L'application de l'article 250.28(2)(c) de la Loi sur la défense nationale

L'article 250.28(2)(c) de la Loi sur la défense nationale accorde au grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes le pouvoir discrétionnaire de refuser d'enquêter sur une plainte pour inconduite ou de mettre un terme à une enquête si elle estime que celle-ci est inutile ou exagérément difficile. La présidente affirme dans son rapport de révision que le grand prévôt ne devrait exercer ce pouvoir que dans les circonstances très bien définies. De l'avis de la présidente, ce n'était pas le cas en l'occurrence.

Le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a traité une plainte la mettant elle-même en cause, le Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes lui a fourni des renseignements erronés, et certains éléments de preuve indiquent que les policiers militaires ont peut-être manqué de professionnalisme. Ces facteurs indiquent qu'il n'était pas justifié en l'occurrence d'invoquer l'article 250.28(2)(c) de la Loi sur la défense nationale. La présidente a recommandé que le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes révise à fond la décision du grand prévôt adjoint des Forces canadiennes (Normes professionnelles) dans cette affaire.

Réponse de la présidente à la suite de la notification du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Dans la notification du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes, la plupart des constatations et des recommandations de la présidente sont acceptées, et la présidente estime que cela témoigne clairement de la volonté du grand prévôt d'améliorer les pratiques policières. Cela ne pourra qu'améliorer encore le professionnalisme de la Police militaire des Forces canadiennes.

Date de modification :