MPCC-2012-012

This complaint arose from the investigation and prosecution of the complainant for domestic violence. The complainant alleged that the military police (MP) investigators involved in the case led the witnesses when questioning them, which influenced the evidence subsequently presented against him at trial. At his trial, some charges against the complainant were dismissed at the request of the prosecution, and the complainant was acquitted on the rest. The complainant added that the leading nature of the questions put by the MP members became an issue during the trial.

The Military Police Complaints Commission (MPCC) conducted a detailed review of the MP witness interview recordings as well as the court transcripts from the complainant's trial.

The MPCC's review of these records revealed that, while there were indeed some leading questions asked by the MP members in their investigative interviews, some were justifiable. Moreover, even in those instances where MP members' leading questions were not justifiable, they had no material impact on the overall tenor and thrust of the witnesses' evidence. As such, the MPCC found the complaint to be unsubstantiated and made no recommendations relative to this case.

Though not raised by the complainant, the MPCC made additional observations in two areas where it was believed that MP Orders could benefit from further clarification: 1) the taking of sworn and videotaped statements of children; and 2) the interviewing of children in the absence of a parent or other support person.

Date modified:

CPPM-2012-012

La plainte se rapporte à une enquête et à une poursuite concernant le plaignant dans une affaire de violence familiale. Le plaignant a allégué que les enquêteurs de la police militaire (PM) chargés de l'affaire ont orienté les réponses des témoins qu'ils ont interrogés, ce qui a eu une incidence sur la preuve présentée ultérieurement contre lui. À son procès, certains chefs d'accusation ont été retirés à la demande de la poursuite, et le plaignant a été acquitté des autres chefs. Le plaignant a ajouté que la nature des questions posées par les membres de la PM, qui influençait les témoins, est devenue un enjeu au cours du procès.

La Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (CPPM) a étudié minutieusement les enregistrements des interrogatoires de même que les transcriptions des débats judiciaires dans l'affaire en cause.

L'examen de ces dossiers par la CPPM a révélé que, même si les membres de la PM avaient effectivement posé, au cours des interrogatoires, des questions de nature à influer sur les réponses, certaines d'entre elles étaient justifiables. En outre, celles qui ne l'étaient pas n'avaient pas d'incidence majeure sur la teneur et l'orientation des témoignages. Par conséquent, la CPPM a jugé la plainte non vérifiée et n'a fait aucune recommandation à l'égard de cette affaire.

Bien que cela n'a pas été soulevé par le plaignant, la CPPM a formulé des observations supplémentaires dans deux domaines au sujet desquels les ordres de la PM gagneraient à être plus précis : 1) les déclarations sous serment des enfants, enregistrées sur bande magnétoscopique; et 2) l'interrogatoire d'enfants en l'absence d'un parent ou d'une autre personne de confiance.

Date de modification :