MPCC-2002-015

Facts and Complaint

A complainant filed a complaint with the Complaints Commission against a Military Police investigator alleging that he had not properly investigated her complaint of alleged harassment against another Military Police member. She stated that the investigator had not met with the complainant to obtain a statement nor did he question any of the numerous witnesses. The complaint was forwarded to the Deputy Provost Marshal, Professional Standards who has the initial responsibility under the National Defence Act for the handling of conduct complaints.

The complaint of alleged harassment, comprising assault, threats and racism, was lodged with the Military Police against a member for an incident that had occurred several years previously. There was the potential to lay charges under the Criminal Code and the complainant was informed by the investigator that he had to speak with Crown counsel before proceeding with the investigation. After Crown counsel indicated that they would not proceed with criminal charges (the deadline for doing so having long passed), the Military Police investigator informed the complainant that he would not investigate the complaint. After further inquiring about the status of the conduct complaint, the complainant was told that the police service could not investigate one of its own members

Decision of the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards on the handling of the complaint

After reviewing the documentation concerning the complaint, the Deputy Provost Marshal, Professional Standards informed the complainant that based on section 250.28(c) of the National Defence Act he would not proceed with an investigation.

Section 250.28(2) of the Act provides that the Provost Marshal

“may direct that no investigation of a conduct complaint be started or that an investigation be ended if, in the opinion of the Provost Marshal,

(c) having regard to all the circumstances, investigation or further investigation is not necessary or reasonably practicable”

Request for Review by the Complaints Commission

The Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards also informed the complainant that, if not satisfied, she had the right to request the Complaints Commission to review this decision. As the complainant was dissatisfied with the answers of the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards she asked that her complaint be referred to the Complaints Commission.

Conclusions of the of the Chairperson of the Complaints Commission

  1. Filing of complaint with the Military Police

    The Complaints Commission found that the Military Police failed to acknowledge receipt of the complaint and failed to inform the Provost Marshal and the Complaints Commission, as they are required to do. The Chairperson considers that the Military Police must ensure that a complainant's rights are observed. This implies that the Military Police must not only forward the complaint to the Provost Marshal or the Complaints Commission for processing, but also must inform complainants of their rights and assist them if necessary. To this end the Chairperson recommends that members of the Military Police be made aware of their rights and obligations under part IV of the National Defence Act.

  2. Allegations regarding conduct of investigation

    During the course of his investigation, the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service investigator proceeded to discuss with Crown counsel the possibility of laying criminal charges. A police officer has broad discretion in the control of his investigation but he is only required to collect the information and testimony he considers essential. It would be in keeping with established practice for the investigator to meet with the complainant, take a statement and prepare a detailed report. The Chairperson of the Complaints Commission disagrees with the conclusion of the Deputy Provost Marshal, Professional Standards that the investigator was right to seek an opinion or a decision from Crown counsel before deciding to conduct an investigation. The Chairperson considers that the best procedure for a Military Police officer working in a civil jurisdiction where he does not have authority to lay charges is to submit a complete file, including statements by complainants and witnesses, to the Crown prosecutor who will then be able to make an informed decision regarding the laying of charges. However, in the circumstances of this case the Chairperson considers that a more extensive investigation into the allegations of harassment was not necessary or useful. She also accepts the decision of the Deputy Provost Marshal, Professional Standards, not to order an investigation into the conduct of the Military Police investigator.

Complaints Commission's Response following the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal's Notification

Although the Complaints Commission disagreed with certain comments made by the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal in her notification, it was satisfied in general with the notification and considered that no additional recommendations were required.

Date modified:

CPPM-2002-015

Faits pertinents et plainte

Une plaignante a déposé une plainte auprès de la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (la « Commission »), alléguant qu'un enquêteur de la police militaire n'avait pas fait dûment enquête à propos de sa plainte de harcèlement contre un autre policier militaire. La plaignante a déclaré que l'enquêteur ne l'avait pas rencontrée pour recueillir sa déposition et n'avait interrogé aucun des nombreux témoins. La plainte a été transmise au grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) à qui il incombe, en première instance, en vertu de la Loi sur la défense nationale, d'instruire les plaintes pour inconduite.

La plainte de harcèlement présumé, y compris voies de fait, menaces et racisme, a été déposée suite à un incident qui avait eu lieu plusieurs années auparavant. Les allégations étant susceptibles de donner lieu à des accusations en vertu du Code criminel, l'enquêteur a informé la plaignante qu'il devait consulter le procureur de la Couronne avant de procéder à l'enquête. Le procureur de la Couronne ayant fait savoir qu'il ne porterait pas d'accusations au criminel (le délai pour ce faire étant depuis longtemps expiré), l'enquêteur de la police militaire a informé la plaignante qu'il ne ferait pas enquête. Lorsque la plaignante a voulu avoir un complément d'information sur l'état de sa plainte pour inconduite, on lui a indiqué que le service de police ne pouvait pas faire enquête sur l'un de ses propres membres.

Décision du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) sur l'instruction de la plainte

Après avoir examiné la documentation concernant la plainte, le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a informé la plaignante que, compte tenu des dispositions énoncées à l'alinéa 250.28c) de la Loi sur la défense nationale, il n'effectuerait pas d'enquête.

Le paragraphe 250.28(2) de la Loi stipule que le prévôt

« peut toutefois à tout moment refuser d'ouvrir l'enquête ou ordonner d'y mettre fin si, à son avis :

c) compte tenu des circonstances, il est inutile ou exagérément difficile de procéder à l'enquête ou de la poursuivre. »

Demande de révision par la Commission

Le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a également informé la plaignante que, si elle n'était pas satisfaite de cette décision, elle avait le droit de demander à la Commission de la réviser. La plaignante n'étant effectivement pas satisfaite des conclusions du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles), elle a demandé que la Commission soit saisie de sa plainte.

Conclusions de la présidente de la Commission

  1. Dépôt de la plainte auprès de la police militaire

    La Commission a conclu que la police militaire avait omis d'accuser réception de la plainte et d'informer le grand prévôt ainsi que la Commission, comme elle est tenue de le faire. La présidente de la Commission considère que la police militaire doit veiller à ce que les droits d'un plaignant soient respectés. Cela implique que la police militaire doit non seulement transmettre la plainte en question au grand prévôt et à la Commission pour y donner suite, mais également qu'elle doit informer les plaignants de leurs droits et leur prêter assistance, le cas échéant. À cette fin, la présidente de la Commission recommande que les policiers militaires soient informés de leurs droits et obligations en vertu de la Partie IV de la Loi sur la défense nationale.

  2. Allégations concernant la façon dont l'enquête a été menée

    Au cours de son enquête, l'enquêteur du Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes a discuté avec le procureur de la Couronne de la possibilité de porter des accusations criminelles. Un policier jouit d'un large pouvoir discrétionnaire pour contrôler le déroulement de son enquête, mais ce qu'il est tenu de faire se borne à recueillir les informations et les témoignages qu'il juge essentiels. Il serait conforme à la pratique établie que l'enquêteur rencontre le plaignant, prenne sa déposition et prépare un rapport détaillé. La présidente de la Commission n'accepte pas la conclusion du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) pour qui l'enquêteur a eu raison de soumettre l'affaire au jugement du procureur de la Couronne avant de décider d'effectuer ou non une enquête. La présidente de la Commission considère que pour un policier militaire opérant dans une juridiction civile où il n'a pas la compétence voulue pour porter des accusations, la meilleure façon de procéder est de transmettre un dossier complet, y compris les dépositions des plaignants et des témoins, au procureur de la Couronne, qui pourra alors décider en toute connaissance de cause si des accusations doivent être portées. Toutefois, compte tenu des circonstances entourant cette affaire, la présidente de la Commission juge qu'une enquête plus approfondie sur les allégations de harcèlement n'était ni nécessaire ni utile. Elle accepte également la décision du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) de ne pas ordonner d'enquête sur la conduite de l'enquêteur de la police militaire.

Réponse de la Commission à la notification du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Même si la Commission ne souscrit pas à certaines observations du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes dans sa notification, elle s'est déclarée satisfaite, en général, de cette notification et a jugé qu'aucune autre recommandation n'était requise.

Date de modification :