MPCC-2012-010

The complainant is a former member of the Canadian Forces (CF). While posted at Canadian Forces Base in the 1980s he was involved in an altercation outside a local drinking establishment. He was seriously injured in this incident. The complainant alleges he received substandard care by military authorities following this incident and the Chain of Command prevented him from receiving proper care for his injuries. He believes the actions or lack of action on the part of the military following his injury amounted to Torture or another offence under the Criminal Code of Canada (CCC) or the National Defence Act (NDA).

In 2010, he made a verbal report to the RCMP regarding the incident. The RCMP notified the Canadian Forces National Investigative Service, Western Region (CFNIS WR), as the complaint fell under Military Police (MP) jurisdiction.

After reviewing the documentation provided by the complainant and interviewing numerous witnesses, including the complainant, the CFNIS finished its investigation in 2012, concluding there were no grounds to support the allegation of Torture as set out in s. 269.1 CCC or Negligent Performance of Duties as set out in s.124 of the NDA. It was also noted the latter charge under the NDA could not be pursued, as the limitation period applicable at the time of the alleged incident had long since expired.

In his complaint and his request for review, the complainant took issue with the adequacy of the CFNIS investigation, including an allegation that there were witnesses the CFNIS had failed either to interview or identify. He also alleged the inadequacy of the investigation was an attempt to cover up the facts of his case in order to hide the fact he was tortured.

Following its review and investigation of the complaint, the Military Police Complaints Commission (MPCC) concluded the allegations were not substantiated. The MPCC noted that the MP investigators had interviewed a number of potentially relevant witnesses suggested by the complainant, and also reviewed the complainant's CF medical and training records. It was not necessary that the investigators interview all witnesses, or pursue all lines of inquiry, suggested by the complainant. In the MPCC's view, the MP investigators pursued the complainant's criminal complaint with reasonable diligence in the circumstances.

Indeed, the MPCC considers the CFNIS investigation continued long after the CFNIS had determined there was no viable charge. The MPCC recommended the CFPM initiate a review of the specific decisions related to this CFNIS investigation in order to examine why the investigation continued for so long after it was determined there was no viable charge to pursue.

As an observation, the MPCC noted there was an inordinate time-gap in communications between the CFNIS and the complainant at one point during the CFNIS investigation. The MPCC suggested that every 30 days would be a reasonable time frame for updating a complainant on the progress of an investigation.

Date modified:

CPPM-2012-010

Dans les années 1980, le plaignant, un ancien membre des Forces canadiennes (FC), a été grièvement blessé au cours d'une altercation survenue à l'extérieur d'un bar de l'endroit où se trouvait la base à laquelle il était affecté. Il allègue que les soins qu'il a reçus des autorités militaires à la suite de l'incident étaient médiocres et que la chaîne de commandement l'a empêché de faire soigner adéquatement ses blessures. Il estime que les mesures prises par les autorités militaires ou l'omission par celles-ci de prendre des mesures après l'incident équivalent à de la torture ou à une autre infraction aux termes du Code criminel du Canada (C.cr.) ou de la Loi sur la défense nationale (LDN).

En 2010, le plaignant a fait un rapport verbal de l'incident à la GRC, qui en a informé le Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes de la Région de l'Ouest (SNEFC RO), car la plainte relevait de la compétence de la police militaire (PM).

Le SNEFC a terminé son enquête en 2012, après avoir examiné la documentation fournie par le plaignant et interrogé de nombreux témoins, y compris le plaignant. Il a conclu que rien n'étayait les allégations de torture aux termes de l'article 269.1 C.cr. ou de négligence aux termes de l'article 124 de la LDN. Il a également fait remarquer que le dernier chef d'accusation en vertu de la LDN ne pouvait pas être retenu, puisque le délai de prescription applicable au moment de l'incident présumé était expiré depuis longtemps.

Dans sa plainte et sa demande de révision, le plaignant a contesté la validité de l'enquête du SNEFC, prétendant que celui-ci avait omis d'interroger ou d'identifier certains témoins. Il a également affirmé que l'insuffisance de l'enquête était en fait une tentative pour camoufler les faits relatifs à sa cause afin de cacher qu'il avait été torturé.

Après avoir étudié la plainte et procédé à une enquête à son sujet, la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (CPPM) a conclu que les allégations étaient non vérifiées. La CPPM a noté que les enquêteurs de la police militaire avaient interrogé un bon nombre de témoins potentiellement pertinents, suggérés par le plaignant, et examiné le dossier médical et le relevé de formation de ce dernier. Il n'était pas nécessaire que les enquêteurs interrogent tous les témoins, ni qu'ils suivent toutes les pistes d'enquête suggérées par le plaignant. Selon la CPPM, les enquêteurs de la PM chargés de la plainte ont fait preuve d'une diligence raisonnable dans les circonstances.

En fait, considérant que le SNEFC avait poursuivi son enquête bien après avoir déterminé qu'il n'y avait pas de motif valable de poursuite, la CPPM a recommandé au GPFC d'examiner les décisions liées à cette enquête afin de voir pourquoi il en avait été ainsi.

La CPPM a noté, à titre d'observation, qu'à un moment donné, au cours de l'enquête, les communications entre le SNEFC et le plaignant avaient été beaucoup trop espacées. La CPPM a exprimé l'avis qu'il serait raisonnable d'informer le plaignant tous les 30 jours sur l'avancement de l'enquête le concernant.

Date de modification :