MPCC-2013-007

This complaint arose from events that occurred on August 24 and 25, 2012. The complainant is a former member of the CF who was released from the military in 2012.

On August 21, 2012, the complainant contacted the Military Police Unit (MPU) to file a formal complaint. Her complaint was that she was sexually assaulted by two high ranking officers in 2009 while she was a CF member. Her allegations and the related investigation are the subject of another complaint (2013-006) to the Military Police Complaints Commission (the Commission). On August 24, 2012, the complainant attended at the MPU to provide a written statement further to the complaint against the two officers. The subject Military Police (MP) member of this file took her statement and provided the complainant with a copy.

On August 25, 2012, the complainant informed the subject MP member that her copy of the statement was missing two pages. The complainant was advised that she could attend the MPU if she wished to provide a new statement. The complainant therefore attended and wrote two more pages to add to her previous statement.

The complainant alleged that the two pages were removed from her original statement on August 24, 2012 which amounted to tampering with evidence by the subject MP member.

Following its review and investigation of the complaint, the Commission concluded the allegation was not substantiated. The Commission investigation found no evidence to support the allegation that the subject MP member tampered with evidence by removing pages from the complainant’s original written statement. The Commission also found the subject MP’s memory to be more reliable than the complainant’s memory for this time period.

The Commission did not make any recommendations in this matter.

Date modified:

CPPM-2013-007

La plainte fait suite aux événements des 24 et 25 août 2012. La plaignante est une ancienne membre des FC qui a été libérée de l'armée en 2012.

Le 21 août 2012, elle a communiqué avec l'Unité de police militaire (UPM) pour déposer une plainte officielle. Elle mentionnait avoir été agressée sexuellement par deux officiers haut gradés en 2009 alors qu'elle faisait partie des FC. Ces allégations et l’enquête connexe font l'objet d'une autre plainte (2013-006) à la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (la Commission). Le 24 août 2012, la plaignante a demandé à l'UPM de produire une déclaration écrite en plus de la plainte contre les deux officiers. Le membre de la police militaire (PM) chargé du dossier a pris sa déposition et lui en a remis une copie.

Le 25 août 2012, la plaignante a informé le membre de la PM chargé de l'enquête qu'il manquait deux pages à sa copie. On l'a avisée qu'elle pouvait communiquer avec l'UMP si elle désirait produire une nouvelle déposition, ce qu'elle a fait en ajoutant deux pages à sa déposition précédente.

La plaignante a affirmé que deux pages ont été retirées de sa déposition originale du 24 août 2012, ce qui signifiait que des pièces à conviction avaient été modifiées par le membre de la PM chargé de l'enquête.

À la suite de son examen et de l'enquête, la Commission a conclu que ces allégations n'étaient pas fondées. L'enquête de la Commission a montré que rien n'appuyait les allégations selon lesquelles le membre de la PM chargé de l'enquête avait modifié les pièces à conviction en retirant des pages de la plainte écrite originale de la plaignante. Elle a également jugé que la mémoire du membre de la PM était plus fiable que celle de la plaignante pour cette période.

La Commission n'a formulé aucune recommandation dans ce dossier.

Date de modification :