MPCC-2013-006

This complaint relates to a Military Police (MP) investigation into two alleged incidents of sexual assault by the complainant’s former superiors while she was a Canadian Forces (CF) member. The alleged incidents would have occurred in the first half of 2009 while the complainant served as part of the crew on a naval vessel. The complainant was released from the military in June 2012.

The MP investigation file remained open from August 2012 to February 2013. During this period, a video recorded interview with the complainant was done and written statements from her were taken. The subject MP investigator also obtained (with some difficulty) a copy of the file on the complainant’s 2011 harassment complaint, where she had initially raised these incidents. The CF body responsible for harassment complaints had found her complaints to be unsubstantiated.

On the basis of the complainant’s statements to the MPs as well as the 2011 harassment complaint file, which included previous MP assessments by both the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service (CFNIS) and the local MP unit (the same one to which the MP subject belonged), the subject MP investigator concluded no further MP action was necessary as the allegations had already been addressed by the chain of command through the CF harassment complaint process and the elements of the offence of sexual assault or assault were not present.

The complainant took issue with the subject MP investigator’s conclusions and his failure to conduct a more extensive investigation of her allegations.

Following its review and investigation of the complaint, the MPCC concluded the allegation was substantiated in part. In the MPCC’s view, the subject MP investigator should have conducted a more thorough investigation into the allegations before concluding the investigations for the reasons he indicated. The harassment complaint file was not a proper basis for concluding the MP investigation. Specifically, neither the previous MP assessments nor the purported deficiencies in the complainant’s evidence were adequate reasons to terminate the investigation. In the MPCC’s view, the subject MP would have needed to conduct further witness interviews in order to conclude the file as he did. While other factors relevant to the exercise of policing discretion might be seen as militating against conducting a full investigation of the complainant’s allegations, these factors did not diminish the elements of the offence, the establishment or exclusion of which could only have been achieved with further witness interviews.

However, as the MPCC determined through its own investigation that the witnesses put forward by the complainant could not corroborate her allegations, the MPCC did not recommend the MP investigation be re-opened.

The MPCC did, however, recommend the subject MP receive further appropriate training on the deficiencies identified in this report and that MP policies on the opening of General Occurrence files be clarified to ensure such files are opened when MPs are consulted in the course of administrative investigations, such as the harassment complaint process.

Date modified:

CPPM-2013-006

Cette plainte est liée à une enquête de la police militaire (PM) concernant deux incidents présumés d’agression sexuelle par les anciens supérieurs de la plaignante lorsqu’elle était membre des Forces canadiennes (FC). Les incidents se seraient produits durant la première moitié de 2009, lorsque la plaignante faisait partie de l’équipage d’un navire militaire. La plaignante a été libérée en juin 2012.

Le dossier d’enquête de la PM est demeuré ouvert d’août 2012 à février 2013. Durant cette période, une entrevue enregistrée sur vidéo a été effectuée avec la plaignante et ses déclarations écrites ont été recueillies. L’enquêteur de la PM visé par la plainte a également obtenu (non sans difficulté) une copie du dossier concernant la plainte pour harcèlement déposée en 2011 par la plaignante, où elle relatait pour la première fois les incidents. L’entité des FC responsable des plaintes pour harcèlement avait jugé la plainte non fondée.

Après examen des déclarations de la plaignante faites aux policiers militaires ainsi que du dossier de plainte pour harcèlement déposée en 2011, lequel comprenait des évaluations antérieures de la PM menées par le Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes et l’unité locale de la PM (soit l’unité à laquelle était affecté le policier militaire visé par la plainte), l’enquêteur de la PM concerné a conclu que la PM n’avait pas d’autres mesures à prendre puisque les allégations avaient déjà été traitées par la chaîne de commandement dans le cadre du processus de plainte pour harcèlement des FC et que les éléments constitutifs d’une infraction d’agression ou d’agression sexuelle n’étaient pas présents.

La plaignante a contesté les conclusions de l’enquêteur de la PM visé par la plainte et a indiqué que ses allégations auraient dû faire l’objet d’une enquête plus approfondie.

Après avoir examiné la plainte et enquêté, la CPPM a conclu que l’allégation était en partie vérifiée. Selon la CPPM, l’enquêteur de la PM visé par la plainte aurait dû mener une enquête plus poussée avant de clore l’enquête pour les raisons citées. Le dossier de plainte pour harcèlement ne constituait pas un fondement valable pour clore l’enquête de la PM. Plus précisément, ni les évaluations antérieures de la PM ni les présumées lacunes dans les éléments de preuve de la plaignante ne constituaient des raisons valables pour clore l’enquête. Selon la CPPM, le membre de la PM concerné aurait dû interroger d’autres témoins avant de clore le dossier comme il l’a fait. Bien que d’autres facteurs s’appliquant à l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire en matière de maintien de l’ordre pourraient être considérés comme des obstacles à la conduite d’une enquête complète sur les allégations de la plaignante, ces facteurs n’ont pas minimisé les éléments constitutifs d’une infraction, dont l’établissement ou l’exclusion n’aurait été possible qu’en interrogeant davantage de témoins.

Cependant, puisque la CPPM a déterminé dans le cadre de sa propre enquête que les témoins produits par la plaignante n’ont pas pu corroborer ses allégations, la CPPM n’a pas recommandé que l’enquête de la PM soit rouverte.

Néanmoins, la CPPM a bel et bien recommandé que le policier militaire visé par la plainte reçoive de la formation appropriée sur les lacunes identifiées dans ce rapport et que les politiques de la PM sur l’ouverture des dossiers d’événements généraux soient clarifiées pour garantir que ces dossiers soient ouverts lorsque les policiers militaires sont consultés durant une enquête administrative, notamment dans le cadre du processus de plainte pour harcèlement.

Date de modification :