MPCC-2001-054

Facts and Complaint

The complainant alleged that two Military Police members came to his place of residence for the purpose of serving him with a legal document. He claimed that they attempted to badger him into signing for it in front of several civilian witnesses, and that one of the Military Police members failed to identify himself, or show his badge or identification card.

Decision of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal

An investigation, launched by the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards, found two different versions of the events. Other than the evidence of the two members and that of the complainant, there were no other available independent witnesses to support the complainant's allegations (the complainant refused to disclose their identities). It was therefore reasonable to conclude that the Military Police members acted properly and in accordance with established Military Police policies.

The complainant asked the Military Police Complaints Commission (“Complaints Commission”) to review his case.

Findings of the Chairperson of the Complaints Commission

In his correspondence with the Complaints Commission, the complainant further added that he was dissatisfied with the Professional Standards investigation findings and suggested that the Military Police members be given a polygraph test in order to establish who was telling the truth. He also expressed his concern about not having been contacted by the investigator.

A- Misconduct by the Military Police members

In absence of credible, independent evidence, the Chairperson could not decide in the complainant's favour. Furthermore, the complainant's failure to provide the Complaints Commission with the names of the alleged independent witnesses weakened his credibility. There was no evidence to support misconduct on the part of the two Military Police members involved.

B- Use of a Polygraph Test

In light of the inherent frailities of polygraph examinations and numerous Supreme Court of Canada judgments on the issue of admissibility of polygraph evidence, the Chairperson concluded that the polygraph has no place in the judicial process where it is used as a tool to determine or to test credibility.

C- The Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards Investigation

As for the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards investigation, the complainant's allegation that the investigator did not contact him was not related to this complaint, but to another investigation involving the complainant. The Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards investigation in this instance was methodical, professional and conducted in a very competent manner.

Consequently, the Chairperson concurred with the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards findings.

Chairperson's Reply following the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal Notice of Action

No further findings or recommendations were added since the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal accepted all the findings made by the Chairperson.

Date modified:

CPPM-2001-054

Faits pertinents et plainte

Le plaignant allègue que deux membres de la Police militaire se sont rendus à son domicile pour lui signifier un document juridique. Il soutient qu'ils ont tenté de l'intimider pour le forcer à y apposer sa signature et ce, devant plusieurs témoins civils. En outre, l'un des policiers ne se serait pas identifié et ne lui aurait pas montré son insigne ou une pièce d'identité.

Décision du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

L'enquête menée par le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) rapporte deux versions différentes des faits. Outre la preuve recueillie auprès des deux policiers et du plaignant, personne ne pouvait corroborer les allégations puisque ce dernier refusait de divulguer l'identité des témoins indépendants. Il était donc raisonnable de conclure que les policiers militaires avaient agi correctement, conformément aux politiques de la Police militaire.

Le plaignant a alors demandé à la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (« la Commission ») de réviser son dossier.

Conclusions de la présidente de la Commission

Dans une lettre adressée à la Commission, le plaignant a ajouté qu'il n'était pas satisfait des conclusions de l'enquête des Normes professionnelles. Il a proposé que les membres de la Police militaire subissent un test polygraphique afin de déterminer quelle partie dit vrai. Il s'est aussi dit préoccupé par le fait que l'enquêteur n'avait pas communiqué avec lui.

A- Inconduite des membres de la Police militaire

En l'absence de preuve crédible et indépendante, la présidente ne peut se prononcer en faveur du plaignant. En outre, le refus de ce dernier de fournir à la Commission le nom des témoins de l'incident mine sa crédibilité. Rien ne démontre que les deux policiers militaires ont fait preuve d'inconduite.

B- Recours au test polygraphique

Compte tenu des risques inhérents aux examens polygraphiques et des nombreuses décisions de la Cour suprême du Canada sur l'admissibilité des preuves obtenues par ce moyen, la présidente a conclu que ce test n'était d'aucun recours dans le processus judiciaire pour vérifier la crédibilité d'une personne.

C- L'enquête du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles)

L'allégation du plaignant voulant que l'enquêteur n'ait pas communiqué avec lui n'était pas reliée à cette plainte, mais plutôt avec une autre enquête impliquant le plaignant. Dans le présent cas, l'enquête du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a été menée de façon méthodique, professionnelle et avec compétence.

Par conséquent, la présidente a confirmé la décision du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles).

Réponse de la présidente à la suite de la notification du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Aucune autre conclusion ou recommandation n'a été ajoutée puisque le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes a accepté les conclusions de la présidente.

Date de modification :