MPCC-2000-047

Facts and Complaint

A civilian asked the Military Police to retrieve some documents from a civilian relative of a Canadian Forces member with whom she had an agreement. The relative refused to do so when he was contacted by telephone. He later surrendered the documents to another police service that had been contacted by the Military Police.

The relative complained that the Military Police had no authority to contact him, that the Military Police member who called him was rude, overbearing and dictatorial, and that the Military Police over-stepped their authority by contacting the other police force.

Decision of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal

An informal resolution was attempted and failed. An investigation by the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards held that a reasonable person would not support the complainant's allegations. The Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards held that the Military Police members had the authority to contact the complainant and that they had acted professionally and in accordance with established Military Police policies. He further held that the Military Police had not over-stepped their authority by contacting the other police service with a request to make a courtesy call on the complainant in an attempt to resolve the situation.

The complainant asked the Military Police Complaints Commission (“Complaints Commission”) to review his case.

Findings and Recommendations of the Chairperson of the Complaints Commission

A- Military Police's Authority to Contact the Complainant

According to section 156 of the National Defence Act and section 127 of the Criminal Code, the Military Police has jurisdiction and authority to investigate service offences, one of which would be disobeying an order of the court.

However, after reviewing the agreement between the civilian and the complainant's relative, the Complaints Commission concluded that the agreement was not a “court order”. The Chairperson noted that the Military Police would be required to intervene in a civil matter if there was potential for a serious incident, such as domestic violence, but that was not the case in this situation. Therefore, notwithstanding the fact that the Military Police member had acted in good faith by consulting with the Regional Judge Advocate General, he did not have the authority to call the complainant and request the documents.

Any citizen could have contacted the complainant to find out if he had the documents in his possession. However, Military Police members should be aware of their inherent positions of authority and a layperson would not perceive an inquiry as being courtesy call only. The members should have advised the person who asked them to obtain the documents to contact a lawyer to resolve the matter.

Recommendation

The Canadian Forces Provost Marshal should establish policies, similar to those in place with other Canadian police agencies, clarifying the involvement of the Military Police in civil matters.

B- Conduct of the Military Police member who contacted the Complainant

A review of the relevant material does not reveal that the member of the Military Police was rude, overbearing or dictatorial towards the complainant. In the absence of a recording of the conversation, this issue remains contradictory.

Chairperson's Reply following the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal Notice of Action

No further findings or recommendations were added since the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal accepted all the findings and recommendations made by the Chairperson.

Date modified:

CPPM-2000-047

Faits pertinents et plainte

Une civile a demandé à la Police militaire de récupérer certains documents auprès d'une personne parente avec un membre des Forces canadiennes avec lequel elle avait conclu une entente. Rejoint par téléphone, le parent en question a refusé d'obtempérer. Il a, par la suite, rendu les documents à un autre service de police qui avait été contacté par la Police militaire.

Le parent a déposé une plainte dans laquelle il prétend que la Police militaire n'était pas autorisée à le contacter, que le policier militaire qui lui a téléphoné s'était montré impoli, arrogant et offensant, et enfin que la Police militaire avait excédé son autorité en communiquant avec l'autre service de police.

Décision du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Un règlement à l'amiable a été tenté, mais sans succès. Après enquête, le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a conclu qu'aucune personne raisonnable ne supporterait les allégations du plaignant. Le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a soutenu que les policiers militaires étaient autorisés à communiquer avec le plaignant et qu'ils s'étaient conduits de façon professionnelle et conforme aux politiques établies par la Police militaire. Il a, de plus, estimé que la Police militaire n'avait pas outrepassé sa compétence en communiquant avec l'autre service de police pour demander que l'on communique avec le parent afin de tenter de régler la situation.

Le plaignant s'est adressé à la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (« la Commission ») pour demander que soit révisé son dossier.

Conclusions et recommandations de la présidente de la Commission

A- Pouvoir de la Police militaire de communiquer avec le plaignant

Conformément à l'article 156 de la Loi sur la défense nationale et à l'article 127 du Code criminel, la Police militaire a compétence pour enquêter sur des infractions d'ordre militaire, notamment l'infraction de désobéissance à une ordonnance du tribunal.

Toutefois, après examen de l'entente conclue entre les parties, la présidente a conclu que l'accord n'était pas « une ordonnance de la Cour ». La présidente a noté que la Police militaire a le devoir d'intervenir dans une affaire de nature civile s'il y a risque d'incident grave, notamment de la violence familiale, mais que tel n'était pas le cas dans cette affaire. Par conséquent, nonobstant le fait que le policier militaire ait agi de bonne foi en s'adressant au juge-avocat général régional, il n'était pas habilité à contacter le plaignant et à demander les documents.

N'importe quel citoyen aurait pu contacter le plaignant pour savoir s'il avait les documents en sa possession. Toutefois, les policiers militaires doivent être conscients de leur position d'autorité et du fait qu'un non-initié ne percevra pas nécessairement leur démarche comme une visite de politesse. Ils auraient dû conseiller à la personne qui leur a demandé de récupérer les documents de s'adresser à un avocat.

Recommandation

Concernant les interventions de la Police militaire dans les affaires de nature civile, le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes devrait adopter des politiques claires, semblables à celles des autres corps de police canadiens.

B- Conduite du policier militaire qui a communiqué avec le plaignant

L'examen du dossier ne permet pas de conclure que le policier militaire s'est montré impoli, arrogant ou offensant à l'égard du plaignant. Sans enregistrement de la conversation, les déclarations demeurent contradictoires.

Réponse de la présidente à la suite de la notification du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Aucune autre conclusion ou recommandation n'a été ajoutée puisque le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes a accepté toutes les conclusions et recommandations de la présidente.

Date de modification :