MPCC-2000-049

Facts and Complaint

The complainant alleged that a member of the Military Police committed a breach and abuse of his authority and acted in a way unbefitting a Military Police member when, while he was off duty, he came into contact with three minors. The first incident occurred when two youths removed a piece of furniture from the garbage and ignored the Military Police member when he asked them to put it back. An argument followed as the youths were leaving the scene. Later, when the member came into contact with a third youth, physical force was allegedly used and the youths reported that the Military Police member smelled strongly of beer.

Further, the complainant alleged that the Military Police member, while on duty, intentionally misused information available only through his employment. This allegation stems from the second incident, which occurred a few days later, when the Military Police member encountered the same youths and cautioned them to obtain proper equipment for their bicycles. After subsequently finding that one of them was still without the proper equipment, the Military Police member requested a computer check to determine whether the youth was in breach of a probation order. The complainant alleged that the Military Police member was on a vendetta against that third youth after what took place during the first incident.

Decision of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal

The Canadian Forces Provost Marshal ordered a Professional Standards investigation into the matter. According to the investigation, it was reasonable to conclude that the Military Police member's actions in this case were professional and that there was no breach of the Military Police Code of Conduct or Military Police policies.

The complainant asked the Military Police Complaints Commission (“Complaints Commission”) to review his case.

Findings and Recommendations of the Chairperson of the Complaints Commission

A- The First Incident

On the basis of the documentation provided, the Complaints Commission did not have jurisdiction to review the actions in question because the Military Police member's interactions with the youths were not within the scope of the policing duties or functions for which a conduct complaint under the National Defence Act could be made. The Military Police member acted as a concerned citizen who wanted to make sure that no public harm would be caused by the youths' actions. He was performing what he believed to be his civic duty. He was not acting as a Military Police member; therefore, his conduct was not subject to review by the Complaints Commission.

B- The Second Incident

The Military Police member did not abuse his authority by misusing information only available to him through his employment. He requested the computer check on the third youth after the argument between the two took place. The request was reasonable under the circumstances and was an exercise of his policing duties.

The Military Police member was not on a vendetta against the third youth following what happened during the first incident. Furthermore, there was insufficient evidence that he had used rude language or threatened. Consequently, there was not enough evidence to support the allegation that he abused his authority as a Military Police member.

However, the Military Police member did not make or keep proper notes of the events in question as required.

Recommendation

The Military Police member should be provided with guidance to ensure that he is aware of the importance of keeping accurate notes of interactions with the public while on duty.

C- Tasking Instructions

There were some discrepancies between the complainant's allegations to the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards and the tasking instructions and letter of disposition provided to the complainant. Nonetheless, the main issues of the allegations were adequately stated and the subtle inaccuracies did not have a negative impact on the findings of the Professional Standards investigation.

The complainant's allegation that the Military member smelled of beer was also inaccurately reflected in the tasking instructions and letter of disposition, but was appropriate nonetheless. Even though it was not part of the public complaint, it could have been a code of conduct issue. Tasking instructions should contain the complainant's allegations, as well as the issues that should be investigated. Paraphrasing a complainant is not a desirable way to set out tasking instructions; rather, the complainant's input should be sought.

Recommendation

All documentation should accurately reflect and be consistent with the words of the complainant. When tasking instructions for a Professional Standards investigation, the input of the complainant should be sought in order to avoid ambiguities, unless there are exceptional circumstances.

D- The Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards' Investigation

There were allegations by the complainant that the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards investigator purposely tried to cover up issues by misrepresenting some facts to the Complaints Commission. The Chairperson found no merit in those allegations and noted that the investigator did nothing that would put his integrity, impartiality and credibility into dispute.

Chairperson's Reply following the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal Notice of Action

No further findings or recommendations were added since the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal accepted all the findings and recommendations made by the Chairperson.

Date modified:

CPPM-2000-049

Faits pertinents et plainte

Le plaignant prétend qu'un policier militaire a commis une inconduite et a abusé de son autorité lors d'échanges avec des mineurs, alors qu'il n'était pas dans l'exercice de ses fonctions. Le premier incident s'est produit lorsque deux jeunes qui ramassaient un meuble jeté aux ordures ont ignoré le policier qui leur disait de remettre le meuble là où il était. Une dispute a éclaté au moment où les jeunes ont quitté les lieux. Lors d'un deuxième incident lorsque le policier est entré en contact avec un troisième jeune, il aurait eu recours à la force physique et les jeunes ont indiqué qu'il dégageait une forte odeur de bière.

De plus, le plaignant allègue que le policier, tandis qu'il était de service, a utilisé à mauvais escient des informations auxquelles il avait accès dans le cadre de son travail. Cette allégation est liée au deuxième incident, lorsque le policier a rencontré de nouveau les jeunes quelques jours plus tard et les a obligés à se procurer l'équipement nécessaire pour circuler à vélo. Après avoir constaté que l'un d'entre eux ne l'avait toujours pas fait, le policier a demandé que l'on fasse une vérification de son dossier pour déterminer si le jeune était en bris de probation. Le plaignant prétend que le policier voulait se venger en raison de ce qui s'était passé lors du premier incident.

Décision du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes a ordonné que l'on procède à une enquête des Normes professionnelles relativement aux deux incidents. Cette enquête a permis de constater que le policier avait agi de façon professionnelle et qu'il n'avait enfreint ni le Code de déontologie de la police militaire ni les politiques de la Police militaire.

Le plaignant a demandé à la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (« la Commission ») de réviser son dossier.

Conclusions et recommandations de la présidente de la Commission

A- Le premier incident

À l'examen des documents présentés, la Commission a indiqué qu'elle n'avait pas compétence en la matière, car les interactions du policier militaire avec les jeunes ne se sont pas produites dans l'exercice de fonctions pouvant faire l'objet d'une plainte en vertu de la Loi sur la défense nationale. Le policier, en tant que citoyen responsable, a voulu empêcher les jeunes de poser des gestes qui puissent nuire au public. Selon lui, il n'a fait que son devoir de citoyen. Il n'agissait pas à titre de policier militaire, et, par conséquent, sa conduite ne pouvait donc pas être traitée par la Commission.

B- Le deuxième incident

Le policier militaire n'a commis aucun abus de pouvoir en utilisant des informations qui étaient disponibles dans le cadre de son travail. Il a demandé que l'on procède à une vérification du dossier du troisième jeune à la suite d'une altercation avec ce dernier. Dans les circonstances, la demande était justifiée et faisait partie des responsabilités du policier.

Le policier ne cherchait pas à se venger du troisième jeune pour ce qui s'était passé lors du premier incident. De plus, la preuve que le policier a utilisé un langage offensant et qu'il a proféré des menaces est insuffisante. Par conséquent, il s'est avéré impossible de prouver le bien-fondé des allégations d'abus de pouvoir.

De plus, le policier n'a pas pris note des événements comme il l'aurait dû le faire selon les règles du métier.

Recommandation

Le policier devrait être informé de l'importance de prendre des notes lorsqu'il interagit avec des citoyens dans l'exercice de ses fonctions.

C- Instructions pour l'enquêteur

La présidente a constaté des divergences entre les allégations du plaignant présentées au grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles), les instructions destinées à l'enquêteur et la lettre de règlement adressée au plaignant. Néanmoins, l'objet principal des allégations a été bien expliqué et les incohérences mineures n'ont pas eu de répercussions négatives sur les conclusions de l'enquête des Normes professionnelles.

Les propos du plaignant alléguant que le policier dégageait une forte odeur de bière étaient exacts mais étaient mal cités dans les instructions et dans la lettre de règlement. Une telle allégation, même si elle ne faisait pas partie de la plainte, relève du Code de déontologie et elle méritait qu'on s'y attarde. Les instructions à l'enquêteur devraient contenir les allégations du plaignant, ainsi que tout autre élément devant faire l'objet d'une enquête. Paraphraser les paroles d'un plaignant ne constitue pas la meilleure façon d'énoncer des instructions; il faut, au contraire, requérir la participation du plaignant.

Recommandation

Tous les documents devraient citer correctement les paroles du plaignant. Lorsqu'il s'agit d'établir des instructions dans le cadre d'une enquête sur les Normes professionnelles, le plaignant devrait être impliqué afin d'éviter toute ambiguïté, sauf en cas de circonstances exceptionnelles.

D- Enquête du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles)

Le plaignant a soumis que le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) avait tenté de camoufler volontairement certains faits présentés à la Commission en les dénaturant. La présidente n'a pu établir le bien-fondé de ces allégations et a indiqué que l'enquêteur n'avait rien fait qui puisse mettre en doute son intégrité, son impartialité et sa crédibilité.

Réponse de la présidente à l'égard de la notification du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes ayant accepté les conclusions et les recommandations de la présidente, aucune conclusion ou recommandation supplémentaire n'a été ajoutée.

Date de modification :