MPCC-2011-002

This conduct complaint arose from an altercation which took place on a school bus travelling from the local town high school to the Canadian Forces Base (CFB). The two minors involved in the altercation were children of Canadian Forces (CF) members. As a result of the altercation, one of the minors was charged with one count of assault and two counts of uttering death threats. The minor charged is the son of the complainant. Four months prior to the incident, the complainant had been employed as the acting Officer Commanding (OC) of the base military police (MP) detachment.

The complainant’s conduct complaint and request for review raised the following allegations against a MP Corporal:

  1. That the incident occurred outside of MP jurisdiction and should not have been investigated by the MP;
  2. That the MP Corporal charged the minor in order to retaliate for previous actions taken by the complainant against the MP Corporal while the complainant was the acting OC of the base MP detachment; and
  3. That the MP Corporal failed to properly and fully investigate the incident.

After conducting a thorough investigation of the complaint, the Commission determined that the complainant’s allegations were not substantiated, with the exception of the third allegation which was partially substantiated. In particular, the MP Corporal’s investigation was lacking in several respects: insufficient note taking, issues concerning the proper seizure and handling of evidence and the failure to interview witnesses to the altercation. The most notable omission was the failure to attempt to interview the accused minor prior to laying charges.

While the investigation of the incident was lacking in some respects, the MP Corporal did have sufficient grounds on which to proceed with laying of Criminal Code charges. The assault (i.e. the accused spitting on the victim) is clearly visible on the video surveillance recording of the incident from the school bus.

The Commission also remarked on the lack of supervisory direction given to the MP Corporal in the investigation of this incident. As well, the Commission commented on the inappropriateness of the actions of the MP complainant in conducting his own private investigation, including interviews, with both civilians and MP members.

Date modified:

CPPM-2011-002

La présente plainte pour inconduite découle d’une dispute qui a eu lieu à bord d’un autobus scolaire qui se rendait de l’école secondaire locale à la base des Forces canadiennes (BFC). Les deux mineurs impliqués dans la dispute étaient des enfants de membres des Forces canadiennes (FC). Par suite de la dispute, un des mineurs a été accusé d’un chef de voies de fait et de deux chefs de menaces de mort. Le mineur inculpé est le fils du plaignant. Quatre mois avant l’incident, le plaignant avait occupé le poste de commandant intérimaire du détachement de la police militaire (PM) de la base.

Dans sa plainte pour inconduite et demande d’examen, le plaignant a formulé les allégations suivantes contre un caporal de la PM :

  1. l’incident est survenu à l’extérieur du territoire de compétence de la PM et n’aurait pas dû faire l’objet d’une enquête de la part de celle-ci;
  2. le caporal de la PM a inculpé le mineur afin de se venger des mesures que le plaignant avait prises contre lui alors que le plaignant était le commandant intérimaire du détachement de la PM de la base;
  3. le caporal de la PM n’a pas mené une enquête complète et appropriée au sujet de l’incident.

Après avoir mené une enquête approfondie au sujet de la plainte, la Commission a jugé que les allégations du plaignant étaient sans fondement, à l’exception de la troisième, qui était fondée en partie. Plus précisément, l’enquête menée par le caporal de la PM comportait plusieurs lacunes : prise de notes insuffisante; problèmes liés à la saisie et au traitement d’éléments de preuve et omission d’interroger des témoins de la dispute. La lacune la plus grave était l’omission de tenter d’interroger l’accusé mineur avant de porter des accusations contre lui.

Même si l’enquête relative à l’incident comportait certaines lacunes, le caporal de la PM avait suffisamment de motifs justifiant le dépôt d’accusations sous le régime du Code criminel. L’agression (l’accusé a craché sur la victime) est nettement visible sur la bande vidéo de l’incident survenu à bord de l’autobus scolaire.

La Commission a également commenté le caractère insuffisant des directives données au caporal de la PM au sujet de l’enquête relative à l’incident. De plus, elle a souligné que le plaignant avait mal agi en menant sa propre enquête privée, notamment en interrogeant lui-même des civils et des membres de la PM.

Date de modification :