MPCC-2000-069

Facts and Complaint

The complainant submitted a letter to the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards claiming that a Military Police member refused to conduct an investigation into allegations that a Member of Parliament had committed a criminal offence, namely perjury.

Decision of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal

In this case, the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards held that no investigation would be ordered because she was of the opinion that the complaint was frivolous according to section 250.28(2)(a) of the National Defence Act. In communicating her decision to the complainant, the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards explained that it was the mandate of the RCMP, not the Military Police, to investigate allegations involving a Member of Parliament. She also found that a previous investigation by another police body had determined that no criminal activity had taken place.

The complainant asked the Military Police Complaints Commission (“Complaints Commission”) to review his case.

Findings and Recommendations of the Chairperson of the Complaints Commission

A- Conduct of the Military Police Member & Explanation to Complainant

The Military Police member's decision to take no further action was deemed reasonable because the allegations made by the complainant had been investigated and researched previously, resulting in the conclusion that no criminal offence had been committed by the Member of Parliament.

Further, the decision of the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards not to start an investigation was supported because the complainant's allegations of perjury by the Member of Parliament could not be investigated by the Military Police. In addition, for an offence of perjury to exist, there must be proof of a false declaration or statement made under oath or solemn declaration with the intent to mislead. The subject member had every reason to believe that the statement was true.

Nevertheless, it would have been appropriate to provide the complainant with a detailed explanation of past investigative activity and research undertaken by the Military Police, as well as an explanation of the elements constituting the criminal offence. Informing the complainant that it was the mandate of the RCMP (and not the Military Police) to investigate his allegations was not an adequate response to his concerns.

Recommendation

The complainant should be informed in a timely manner and be provided with an explanation of the reason(s) when the decision not to start a Military Police investigation is taken.

B- Was the Complaint Frivolous?

Any person has the right to make a complaint about the conduct of a member of the Military Police in the performance of their policing duties or functions. The present complaint was not found to be frivolous or vexatious. To hold it as such, the threshold must be much higher; otherwise, it would be equivalent to denying the right of persons to make conduct complaints. In the present case, it would have been reasonable for the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards to have held that “in having regard to all the circumstances, investigation or further investigation is not necessary or reasonably practicable”.

Recommendation

The Canadian Forces Provost Marshal should establish a higher threshold for categorizing a conduct complaint as “frivolous, vexatious or made in bad faith” and directing that no investigation of a conduct complaint be started or that an investigation be ended.

Chairperson's Reply following the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal Notice of Action

The Canadian Forces Provost Marshal accepted all the findings and recommendations made by the Chairperson; there were no further findings or recommendations.

The Chairperson noted that the terminology “frivolous, vexatious or made in bad faith” is used in various federal statutes. It may be helpful in the development of a policy for the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal to consult, for instance, Federal Court or other decisions, which establish guidelines for determining a threshold for using such criteria.

Date modified:

CPPM-2000-069

Faits pertinents et plainte

Le plaignant a envoyé au grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) une lettre dans laquelle il mentionnait qu'un policier militaire avait refusé de faire enquête sur certaines allégations voulant qu'un député ait commis une infraction criminelle, à savoir, un parjure.

Décision du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Dans cette affaire, le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a décidé qu'aucune enquête ne serait menée car, à son avis, la plainte était futile selon l'alinéa 250.28(2)a) de la Loi sur la défense nationale. Lorsqu'elle a communiqué sa décision au plaignant, le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a expliqué que c'était la GRC, et non la Police militaire, qui était responsable des enquêtes concernant les députés. Elle a également constaté qu'une enquête menée par un autre corps policier avait déterminé qu'aucune infraction criminelle n'avait été commise.

Le plaignant a demandé à la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (« la Commission ») de réviser le dossier.

Conclusions et recommandations de la présidente de la Commission

A- Code de déontologie de la police militaire et explications données au plaignant

La décision du policier militaire de ne pas donner suite à l'enquête s'est avérée raisonnable, les faits signalés par le plaignant ayant déjà fait l'objet d'une enquête qui avait révélé qu'aucune infraction criminelle n'avait été commise par le député en question.

De plus, la décision du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) de ne pas donner suite à l'enquête a été confirmée parce que les allégations de parjure à l'encontre d'un député ne peuvent être examinées par la Police militaire. En outre, pour qu'il y ait parjure, il faut être en mesure de prouver qu'un faux serment a été prêté ou que de fausses déclarations ont été faites avec l'intention de tromper. Dans cette affaire, tout portait à croire que les déclarations étaient véridiques.

Néanmoins, il aurait été judicieux de fournir au plaignant des explications détaillées concernant les enquêtes menées auparavant par la Police militaire, ainsi que les éléments constituant une infraction criminelle. L'information voulant que sa demande relevait de la GRC (et non de la Police militaire) ne pouvait constituer aux yeux du plaignant une réponse acceptable et suffisante.

Recommandation

Le plaignant devrait être informé de façon opportune et recevoir des explications concernant les raisons pour lesquelles la Police militaire a décidé de refuser d'ouvrir une enquête.

B- La plainte était-elle futile?

Quiconque a le droit de déposer une plainte concernant la conduite d'un policier militaire dans l'exercice de ses fonctions. La plainte déposée dans cette affaire n'a pas été jugée futile ou vexatoire. Des critères plus élevés devraient être établis pour déterminer que la plainte est en fait futile ou vexatoire; autrement, ceci équivaudrait à nier le droit d'une personne de se plaindre du comportement d'un policier. Dans la présente affaire, il aurait été plus raisonnable pour le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) de déclarer que « compte tenu des circonstances, il est inutile ou exagérément difficile de procéder à l'enquête ou de la poursuivre ».

Recommandation

Le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes devrait fixer des critères plus élevés pour établir qu'une plainte pour inconduite est en fait « futile, vexatoire ou portée de mauvaise foi », et refuser d'ouvrir une enquête ou ordonner d'y mettre fin.

Réponse de la présidente à la notification du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes a accepté toutes les conclusions et recommandations de la présidente; aucune conclusion ou recommandation subséquente n'a été ajoutée.

La présidente a indiqué que l'expression « futile, vexatoire ou portée de mauvaise foi » est utilisée dans diverses lois fédérales. Il pourrait être utile pour le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes de consulter, par exemple, les décisions de la Cour fédérale lorsqu'il élabore des politiques, car on y retrouve des lignes directrices permettant d'établir le fardeau pour utiliser de tels critères.

Date de modification :