MPCC-2014-001

This complaint arose out of a traffic stop conducted by a Military Police (MP) member at a stop-light-controlled intersection on a Canadian Forces Base. The complainant was a civilian stopping at a restaurant on the base before continuing on to work in a nearby town. The complainant had stopped his vehicle near the intersection during a yellow light and proceeded to turn left through the intersection after the light turned red.

During the course of the traffic stop the complainant twice attempted to leave his vehicle and make purchases at the restaurant while the subject MP member conducted checks inside his patrol car. The subject requested the complainant remain in his vehicle. The complainant and subject each raised their voices and expressed frustration with the other during their interactions. After being issued a traffic violation ticket, the complainant attempted to enter the restaurant, at which time the subject MP suggested the complainant find another restaurant. The complainant returned to his vehicle and drove off the base. The subject followed him for approximately two kilometres, to the edge of the base, in his police vehicle.

The complainant alleged the traffic stop was "senseless" as he was required to complete his turn after the light turned red because he had already entered the intersection and had to wait for several cars, including the MP vehicle, to clear the intersection before turning safely. The complainant further alleged that during the course of the traffic stop, the subject MP's behaviour was "senseless, aggressive, dominating and rough", that the subject MP ordered him off the base, and may have had a visual impairment.

After its own investigation the Military Police Complaints Commission (MPCC) substantiated the allegations that the subject's behaviour towards the complainant was not professional and that the complainant was objectively ordered to leave the base, but did not substantiate the allegations that the traffic ticket was "senseless" or that the subject MP was suffering from a visual impairment.

Given the fact that the subject MP is no longer a member of the Canadian Armed Forces, the MPCC saw no need to recommend any individual remedial measures. However, the MPCC did recommend that the local MP Unit provide training on the application of the Defence Controlled Area Access Regulations and the related MP Standard Operating Procedure.

Date modified:

CPPM-2014-001

La plainte se rapporte à un contrôle routier effectué par un membre de la police militaire (PM) à une intersection munie de feux de circulation sur une base des Forces canadiennes (FC). Le plaignant est un civil qui avait voulu s'arrêter à un restaurant de la base avant de se rendre au travail dans une ville voisine. À l'intersection en question, il avait immobilisé son véhicule au feu jaune et entrepris de tourner à gauche après que le feu soit passé au rouge.

Pendant que le membre de la PM qui l'avait arrêté (le sujet) effectuait des vérifications dans son véhicule de patrouille, le plaignant a essayé par deux fois de quitter son véhicule pour faire des achats dans le restaurant. Le sujet lui a demandé de demeurer dans son véhicule. Au cours de leurs échanges, ils ont tous les deux haussé le ton pour exprimer leur exaspération. Après s'être fait remettre une contravention pour infraction aux règlements de la circulation, le plaignant a voulu entrer dans le restaurant, mais le sujet lui a suggéré d'aller ailleurs. Le plaignant est retourné dans son véhicule et a quitté la base. Le sujet l'a suivi dans sa voiture de police sur une distance d'environ deux kilomètres, soit jusqu'à la limite de la base.

Le plaignant a allégué que le contrôle routier était « insensé », car s'il avait effectué son virage après que le feu soit passé au rouge, c'est parce qu'il s'était déjà engagé dans l'intersection et qu'il avait dû laisser passer plusieurs véhicules, dont celui du policier, avant de pouvoir exécuter la manœuvre en toute sécurité. Il a en outre affirmé que, pendant son intervention, le sujet s'était comporté « en dominateur stupide, agressif et grossier », qu'il lui avait donné l'ordre de quitter la base et qu'il avait peut-être une déficience visuelle.

Après avoir mené son enquête, la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (CPPM) a confirmé que le sujet avait manqué de professionnalisme à l'égard du plaignant et qu'il l'avait effectivement obligé à quitter la base, mais elle n'a pas confirmé que la contravention était « injustifiée », ni que le sujet souffrait d'une déficience visuelle.

Comme le sujet ne fait plus partie des FC, la CPPM a jugé inutile de recommander des mesures correctives. La CPPM a toutefois recommandé que l'unité locale de la PM donne une formation à ses membres sur l'application du Règlement sur les secteurs d'accès contrôlé relatif à la défense et sur les Instructions permanentes d'opération de la PM qui s'y rattachent.

Date de modification :