Biographies

Chairperson

Hilary C. McCormack, LL.B.

Hilary McCormack was appointed Chairperson of the Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada (MPCC), effective October 5, 2015.

Prior to her appointment, Ms. McCormack was Director of Crown Operations (East Region) at the Ontario Ministry of the Attorney General, a position she had held since 2009. As Regional Crown Attorney, she supervised 10 Crown Attorney offices and was responsible for criminal prosecutions and summary conviction appeals in Eastern Ontario. In addition to her management duties, Ms. McCormack continued to prosecute many high profile and complex trials. She received the Ministry of the Attorney General Excelsior Deputy’s Award in 2010.

Ms. McCormack graduated from the University of Western Ontario’s law school. Following her call to the Ontario Bar in 1980, she was in private practice for three years before joining the Ontario Ministry of the Attorney General as Assistant Crown Attorney in 1983. She was seconded to the federal Department of Justice in 1992. Her work as General Counsel, Criminal Law and Policy, resulted in amendments to the Criminal Code of Canada which enhanced the general protection of women and children from sexual and physical violence for which she received the Department of Justice Deputy Minister’s Merit Award in 1994.

She returned to the Ontario Ministry of the Attorney General in 1994 where she continued to prosecute complex homicides and to develop her expertise in a number of criminal justice issues: child abuse, sexual assault and domestic violence; best practices in case management and trial processes and mental health. Over the course of her career, she travelled to Thailand and Kosovo to provide legislative and policy advice in these areas and frequently hosted foreign delegations, including delegations from Russia, China, Afghanistan and the Palestinian Authority, on systemic issues and best practices.

Ms. McCormack prosecuted the first case in Canada to successfully use DNA evidence. She subsequently established an ad hoc committee to provide advice about the use of DNA evidence to Crown prosecution services and police services across Canada and internationally. She also worked on policy and legislative initiatives for both the DNA warrant provisions and the DNA data base which have transformed policing and prosecutions in Canada. This interest in facilitating transformative change also prompted her to implement a Drug Treatment Court, an Adult Mental Health Court and, for the first time in Canada, a Youth Mental Health Court while she was the Crown Attorney for Ottawa, an appointment she received in 2000, and the first woman to ever hold that position

Between 2000 and 2005, Hilary McCormack was a member of the Department of National Defence’s Military Police Advisory Committee which provided advice to senior military leadership about significant changes to the military police and their investigative capacity. The committee’s recommendations improved the military police’s relationship with civilian courts and prosecution services, and provided opportunities for enhanced police training and education.

Hilary McCormack has taught criminal law at the University of Ottawa, at the Bar Admission course, and served on the faculty of the Federation of Law Societies Criminal Law program. She is a frequent speaker at judicial, legal and police conferences, helped develop instructional material for the National Judicial Institute, and written and published extensively on various legal issues. She has served as a volunteer on the boards of directors and committees of not-for-profit organizations.

Commission Members

Michel Séguin

Mr. Séguin joined the MPCC as a part-time commission member on March 6, 2014. He was the Interim Chairperson of the Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada (MPCC) from March 28, 2015 to October 4, 2015. Mr. Séguin has extensive operational policing experience, having spent 33 years with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP). He is fluent in both French and English.

During his service with the RCMP, he held the position of Ethics and Integrity Advisor and adjudicated Code of Conduct hearings. Mr. Séguin retired from the RCMP in 2008 as Assistant Commissioner and the Commanding Officer of “O” Division (Ontario).

After his retirement from the RCMP, Mr. Séguin joined the House ‎of Commons Administration as Director General, Parliamentary Accommodations Services, a post he held for five years.

Mr. Séguin was invested as an Officer of the Order of Merit of the Police Forces in May, 2008.

Troy DeSouza

Troy DeSouza was appointed as a Commission Member for a four year term in June 2015.

A long-time resident of Victoria, B.C., he has practiced law in British Columbia for the past 17 years, providing legal advice to local government clients. He has conducted litigation before administrative tribunals, appeal boards, and all levels of courts in British Columbia.

Mr. DeSouza is also an educator. He has created several courses for local government staff and elected officials. He is a member of several professional organizations, and is Co-Chair of the Municipal Law Section of the Canadian Bar Association, B.C. Branch.

Troy DeSouza is a graduate of the University of Windsor’s law school. He had a diverse career before being called to the Bar in 1998. He worked as a consultant for the Attorney General of Ontario, and served seven years in the Canadian Armed Forces where he obtained the rank of Captain.

Date modified:

Biographies

Présidente

Hilary C. McCormack, LL. B.

Hilary McCormack a été nommée présidente de la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada (CPPM), à compter du 5 octobre 2015.

Avant sa nomination, maître McCormack occupait depuis 2009 le poste de directrice régionale des services des procureurs de la Couronne (région de l’Est) au ministère du Procureur général de l’Ontario. À titre de procureure régionale de la Couronne, elle a supervisé dix bureaux des procureurs de la Couronne et a été responsable des poursuites criminelles et des appels en matière de poursuite sommaire dans l’Est de l’Ontario. En plus d’assumer des fonctions de gestion, maître McCormack a continué de mener de nombreux procès complexes et médiatisés. En 2010, elle a reçu le prix Excelsior du sous-ministre du ministère du Procureur général.

Maître McCormack est diplômée de la faculté de droit de l’Université Western Ontario. Après son admission au Barreau de l’Ontario en 1980, elle a été avocate dans un cabinet privé pendant trois ans avant de se joindre au ministère du Procureur général de l’Ontario à titre de procureure adjointe de la Couronne en 1983. Elle a été détachée au ministère de la Justice en 1992. Grâce à son travail d’avocate générale, politique en matière de droit pénal, des modifications ont été apportées au Code criminel du Canada en vue d’améliorer la protection générale des femmes et des enfants contre la violence sexuelle et physique. Son travail lui a d’ailleurs valu en 1994 le prix du mérite du sous-ministre du ministère de la Justice.

Elle est retournée au ministère du Procureur général de l’Ontario en 1994 où elle a continué de travailler sur des cas complexes d’homicide et a perfectionné son expertise sur un certain nombre de questions de justice pénale, notamment la violence envers les enfants, les agressions sexuelles, la violence familiale, les pratiques exemplaires sur la gestion de cas et les procédures liées aux procès, et la santé mentale. Au cours de sa carrière, elle s’est rendue en Thaïlande et au Kosovo pour fournir des conseils juridiques et stratégiques dans ces domaines d’expertise. En outre, elle a accueilli de nombreuses délégations étrangères, entre autres de la Russie, de la Chine et de l’Afghanistan, et des représentants de l’Autorité palestinienne pour discuter de questions systémiques et de pratiques exemplaires.

Maître McCormack a poursuivi le tout premier procès au Canada où des éléments de preuve génétique ont été utilisés avec succès. Elle a ensuite formé un comité ad hoc dans le but de fournir des conseils sur l’utilisation de la preuve génétique aux services du procureur de la Couronne et aux services policiers du Canada et à l’étranger. Elle a également travaillé sur des politiques et des initiatives juridiques en lien avec des dispositions concernant les mandats autorisant les prélèvements ADN et la base de données génétiques, lesquelles ont transformé les interventions policières et les poursuites au Canada. Son intérêt pour le changement transformationnel l’a également poussée à mettre sur pied un tribunal de traitement de la toxicomanie, un tribunal de santé mentale pour adultes et, pour la première fois au Canada, un tribunal de santé mentale pour adolescents, et ce, alors qu’elle occupait le poste de procureure de la Couronne à Ottawa. Nommée en 2000, elle a été la première femme à occuper ce poste.

Entre 2000 et 2005, Hilary McCormack était membre du Comité consultatif de la Police militaire du ministère de la Défense nationale qui conseillait les chefs militaires supérieurs sur les changements importants à apporter à la Police militaire et à sa capacité d’enquête. Les recommandations du Comité ont amélioré les relations entre la police militaire et les tribunaux civils ainsi qu’avec le service des poursuites, et a fourni des occasions d’améliorer la formation et le perfectionnement de la police.

Hilary McCormack a enseigné le droit criminel à l’Université d’Ottawa et le cours d’admission au Barreau, et a fait partie du corps professoral du programme de droit criminel de la Fédération des ordres professionnels de juristes du Canada. De plus, elle participe souvent à des conférences sur des questions judiciaires, juridiques et policières. Elle a aussi collaboré à l’élaboration de matériel pédagogique pour l’Institut national de la magistrature, et a beaucoup rédigé et publié sur diverses questions juridiques. Elle a siégé comme bénévole à des conseils d’administration et à des comités d’organismes sans but lucratif.

Membres de la Commission

Michel Séguin

M. Séguin s'est joint à la CPPM comme membre à temps partiel de la Commission le 6 mars 2014. Il a été le président par intérim de la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada (CPPM) du 28 mars au 4 octobre 2015. M. Séguin possède une vaste expérience policière opérationnelle après avoir fait carrière dans la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) pendant 33 ans. Il parle couramment le français et l'anglais.

Pendant son service avec la GRC, il a occupé le poste de Conseiller en matière d'éthique et d'intégrité et il a statué sur des affaires lors d'audiences liées au Code de déontologie. M. Séguin a pris sa retraite de la GRC en 2008, avec le grade de commissaire-adjoint, et comme le commandant de la Division « O » (Ontario).

Après sa retraite de la GRC, M. Séguin s'est joint à l'Administration de la chambre des Communes à titre de directeur général, Services des édifices parlementaires, un poste qu'il a occupé pendant cinq années.

M. Séguin a été intronisé au grade d'Officier dans l'Ordre du mérite des corps policiers en mai 2008.

Toy DeSouza

Troy DeSouza a été nommé membre de la Commission pour un mandat de quatre ans en juin 2015.

Résident de longue date de Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, il exerce le droit depuis les 17 dernières années et donne des avis juridiques à des clients du gouvernement local. Il a comparu devant des tribunaux administratifs, des comités d'appel et tous les niveaux de cours de justice en Colombie-Britannique.

Me DeSouza est également un éducateur. Il a créé plusieurs cours à l'intention du personnel du gouvernement local et des représentants élus. Il est membre de plusieurs organisations professionnelles et il est coprésident de la Section du droit municipal de la division de la Colombie-Britannique de l'Association du Barreau canadien.

Troy DeSouza est diplômé de la faculté de droit de l'Université de Windsor. Il a eu une carrière diversifiée avant d'être admis au Barreau en 1998. Il a travaillé à titre de consultant pour le Procureur général de l'Ontario et a servi durant sept ans au sein des Forces armées canadiennes où il a obtenu le grade de capitaine.

Date de modification :